We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panache and allure”
Review of Maunsel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maunsel House
Ranked #1 of 1 North Newton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place oozes gentry and the lavish furnishings set the scene for a stylish night out. We had a great evening here, with everything we could wish for in the way of comfort and style. Staff most friendly and helpful. Inside this manor house, if you go through a mediaeval doorway is a pub, full of trinkets and interesting shaped glasses. Portraits everywhere, and always the outside hope of seeing Sir Benjamin Slade, who is undoubtedly a character, as his legend surrounds you everywhere in this wonderful house.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank esmondgoodlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went to a party held at Maunsel House, what a lovely place to be able to hold a special party/wedding. Very helpful, attentive staff and it had the feeling of giving a party in a private home, albeit rather a grand one.

Room Tip: it was a private lunch time party so we didn't have a chance to try out all that was on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Richard Hu... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I spent the evening at Maunsel House. It is in the most beautiful and idyllic setting. We were so welcome and everyone looked after us so well. I highly recommend a visit. My eyes were drawn to wonders in the house and never a moment without a glass in one's hand! The gardens are to die for. We hope to return soon. Food is delicious!!

Room Tip: You only have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at Maunsel House last month for a party and I had a fantastic time, staying as a guest of Sir Bejamin Slade's, he is the perfect host, charming and sophisticated with the manners of a great gentleman.

The accommodation was first class, elegant and comfortable with anything one could possibly wish for. The Staff is well trained and the food and drink are of a very fine quality more London than Somerset. The bar is also rather good and the decor is is exceptional with very interesting items!
Great stuff, thank you! I can highly recommend Maunsel House.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was fortunate enough to be at Maunsel for the weekend a month or so ago. Normally one has to go through a wardrobe to find a parallel universe but Sir Benjamin has created his own idly in Somerset, a short taxi ride away from Taunton railway station. Ever the perfect host with attentive staff, oceans to drink and excellent food. Nothing is too much trouble with superb accommodation being offered either in the house or in one of the charming cottages. Sir Benjamin has created a masterpiece here and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TSC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was lucky enough to be at this house for a luncheon party and it is the most spectacular setting. The gardens are perfectly designed for al fresco dining, the food was delicious, and the staff could not have been more attentive. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank montyhomefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great Fun, Sir Ben has great taste and the staff do a fabulous job with great attention to detail. We had great food and drinks at the bar, Maunselhouse ale goes down well. Great place and well worth a party or wedding, Heli pad as well if you don't fancy a 2 hr drive from London!

Room Tip: Had a sneek at the new bedrooms, they look great. Next time will try them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maunsel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maunsel House

Address: Maunsel House Maunsel Road, North Newton TA7 0BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Newton
Price Range: £115 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maunsel House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maunsel House is a magnificent 13th-century manor set in 100 acres of stunning parkland at the heart of a sprawling 2,000 acre estate, comprising of farms, woodlands, walnut groves, orchards, Somerset wetlands, cottages and ancient barns. Maunsel is primarily a luxury weddings and events venue. Exclusively yours for the duration of your stay, with no restrictions on how you wish to celebrate. Maunsel has 13 exquisite bedrooms, all with their own story to tell and character and some with antique four poster beds. At Maunsel we also have 4 glorious cottages, all fully furnished to the highest of standards. At Maunsel you cannot book individual rooms, instead you can hire the whole house and cottages for your use. The cottages are available for mid week holiday breaks - so should you be after a relaxing getaway we have just the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Maunsel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maunsel House Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing