We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of Union Pizzeria

Union Pizzeria
Ranked #16 of 279 Restaurants in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great Atmosphere and nice food. We had a group of 8, it was no problem. Service was attentive. The only downside was the busboy eating in front of patrons and then serving food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casual and easy”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The menu is filled with various flatbread-type pizzas and small plates. The food is quite good. Can't beat it for a place to eat before catching a show at Space next door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best adult pizza on the Northside”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and have been to this place many times in the past and hope the future. Their brick fired pizza is to die for. The craft mixed drinks are the best i have ever had. I even stole a few of the recipes for my own bar for parties and they are HUGE hit.

Come early as they don't take reservations.

Out in the back is the only live band space in Evanston. Dinner and a show, what could be better!

Great decor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Eat for 4 or More”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had dinner there twice this summer with a group of 4. Service from multiple servers on both occasions was attentive. Good selection of beers and interesting mixed drinks. The pizzas are unusual combinations -- we especially liked the prosciutto and arugula. From the small plates, we enjoyed the skirt steak and meatballs. The polenta pound cake is a delicious dessert.

We were concerned that noise from Space behind the restaurant would intrude. It was not a problem. On one of our visits, there was a concert starting at 7 and many people dine at Union before going to the concerts. We arrived a bit after 7 and were seated without a wait. Other servers will bring your food to the table when it is ready so everything was the correct temperature.

We saw families with school aged children but probably not the place for toddlers/infants especially on a busier evening. The tables are close together so probably not stroller friendly.

A good place to go with a group of 4 or larger to share a variety of pizzas and small plates. Per the restaurant's web site, seating is on a first come first served basis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really Wanted To Like It”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had heard great things about Union and we were excited to try it for the first time, We went around 6:30/7pm on a Thursday and the restaurant was busy, but not crazy busy. Which is why it was perplexing that it took about 10 minutes for a server to acknowledge us. When the server did finally come to our table she asked for our drink order and then immediately asked for our order. Hey, what about the specials, what about a recommendation, or just a smile and some sense that you're happy, rather than annoyed that we are here. She barely acknowledged us again and we had to flag her down to get the check. It wasn't just us either, the table seated next to us actually got up and left after sitting and not being acknowledged. As for the pizza, I did think it was very good. The decor is a little odd to me though - there were tables and chairs stacked on one side near some boxes, there is a strange curtain at the other end of the restaurant, and it all seems a little disjointed. It could be cool - the bar looks nice, but the back of the restaurant needs work. Bottom line, not likely that we will go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamond00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Union Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing