We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large suites (get a corner); convenient location, inconvenient parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Best choice in Evanston travelling with family. The corner suites are very spacious and can comfortably fit a family of 4. If you can get the presidential suite it's even bigger, with a large dining area, and not that much more expensive. Great location, only a short walk from downtown restaurants, shops and movie theater, and just a little more to Northwestern University and the lake. The parking lot is inconvenient though -- the hotel doesn't really have one, so you use the public parking next door for $13 a day with in and out privileges, but you have to validate the card at reception every time.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the second time in 3 years that I stayed here, and once more I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very conveniently located in downtown Evanston, near the Davis Street stations on both Metra UP North line and the CTA Purple Line. It's only a little more than 1-1/2 blocks walk north from either station.

The hotel staff was friendly, and check-in and check-out were both easy and professional experiences. My room was comfortable and adequately sized. The view to the west left something to be desired, but then I wasn't there for the view. The property is in a vibrant suburban neighborhood, so there are places to go and things to do in town if one wants to take a walk. There are also laundry machines onsite, which was one reason I chose this hotel as I was at the point in my 2-week trip that I had to wash my clothes.

Overall, as long as the price is right, this hotel comes highly recommended for a Chicago-area stay. It generally will be cheaper than one might find in the Loop, and it's worth the 11-mile trip on the train.

Room Tip: If you care about the view you probably don't want to face west. But then not sure if facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I liked the fact that it was centrally located. The hotel was average and the room toward the front of the hotel was a bit noisy with the Air Conditioning on. I'm not sure if it's the same toward the back of the hotel, since it is L shaped.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I didn't get to stay here. My review is about the run-around I got and a caution to other travelers. My flight to Illinois from NYC was cancelled because the airport was shut down due to dangerous weather conditions. I called the hotel to cancel my reservation. The hotel staff said that I would receive a full refund, but I had to cancel thru Orbitz since that is how I made my reservation. So I did cancel via Orbitz who told me I would not receive any refund for my 3 night stay. They claimed this was the hotel's policy. I again called the hotel and was told I needed to speak w/ the business manager. However, he was not available although I called during business hours. Incidentally, it was impossible to get Orbitz on the phone. After several attempts, I filed a dispute through my credit card company. The lesson for me, don't book through orbitz. Don't book at Hilton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

I am sorry to hear that due to inclement weather in NY, you were not able to stay here. We have a wonderful property here in Evanston, IL and I wish that you we able to experience our hotel. I realize that you had difficulty getting refunded through Orbitz as it can be a challenge when booking through a third party due to their policies. If you still haven't resolved this issue with Orbitz, please contact me directly and I will assist you in getting the proper resolution. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you to Chicago.

Thank you,

Adrian Brewington
General Manager
(847) 475-6400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel provides efficient service and the amenities you might need. The internet works well and easy on all types of devices at the same time. Room service is effective although not available 24 hours. They provide good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My son and I stayed for one night at the Hilton Garden Inn in Evanston, Illinois. The hotel is modern, rather large and very clean. The staff at the front desk were friendly and courteous. Our room was very clean and neat, had 2 queen size beds, as well as a refrigerator and a "Keurig" coffee maker. The hotel was very quiet, and we were not disturbed at night by any noise, in the hall or by our neighbors on either side of our room. The hotel does have a restaurant, but we did not use it. It is a very short drive (about 5 minutes) from Northwestern University. The only negative is the expensive parking ($13. self park) in a garage behind the hotel that is a public garage so I'm not sure if it was very secure overnight. However, I guess this is very close to Chicago, and so seems to be a common occurrence. That is the first time I have ever paid for parking at a Hilton Garden Inn.....

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor (I believe the hotel has 5 floors) and our room was very quiet. It was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mykidsmomCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stay at this Hilton Garden often and am never disappointed. My job has offices in the area, so we fly in. Very friendly staff and rooms are comfy. Walking distance from many restaurants, both quick eats and more formal dining. They recently remodeled the bar area, which is much improved over what it used to be with plenty of space for a group to spread out and enjoy a drink after work or dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#6 of 7 in Evanston
225 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Address: 1818 Maple Ave., Evanston, IL 60201-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: £81 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Evanston Hotel Evanston
Evanston Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing