We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service,very good soup”
Review of Prairie Joe's

Prairie Joe's
Ranked #121 of 279 Restaurants in Evanston
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
virginia beach
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service,very good soup”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

VERY funky,typical Evanston kind of place
Very nice waitress,very friendly staff and really delicious soup
I will definitely return next time I'm in Evanston

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Creative, friendly, delicious!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Cops, families, even Ohio State fans all enjoy this place. It's a rare example of something largely lost in America--authenticity. The menu is, at its core, straight diner, but the daily specials are always interesting and never disappointing. Think Mexican, Turkish and Southern influences coming together in a mystical union of culinary harmony. The ambiance is equally diverse and wholly synergistic. A huge plastic shark hanging from the ceiling, typewriters here and there and a plethora of 1950's curios. Cash only. Keepin' it real.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobo7367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I really love this place!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We lived in Evanston for several years and always enjoyed this "local" place. It's fun and whimsical with great food and service. The menu features great American diner fare as well as some Mexican specialties. Every time we come back to Evanston we stop in for breakfast. My favourite is the southwest burrito. It's awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelToLiveYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local Eatery with creative specials”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I love going to Prairie Joe's. I have never ordered off their regular menu. I love the off-beat specials and have never gotten one I disliked. The owner has decorated with his own off-beat artwork and found items. Go just to sit and look around! My kids love his milkshakes. He also has Jarritos ( a Mexican soda) you may want to try the tamarind flavor for something new.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyM923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, lots of fun”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

If there is a grillette on the breakfast menu, order it. Otherwise, there are plenty of unique dishes, changing every day, with generous portions at modest prices. But this place is about more than just the food: it's also about the environment -- paintings (by the owner), retro lamps and radios, the empty tv, the shark, the book shelves, the toys, the witty remarks in the menu, and the hard-working folks who bring you your food. It's kid-friendly, adult-friendly, sui generis.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilGalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prairie Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing