We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, but inviting atmosphere, excellent food”
Review of Terra American Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Terra American Bistro
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Livingston
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chic, but inviting atmosphere, excellent food”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised that Terra--a little hard to spot as it sits back a bit off busy Green Bay Road--was so stylish and hip. Pay close attention to its address, the entrance does not face Green Bay Rd. The staff was so very welcoming and our waitress very attentive. The selections are extensive and varied and not only presented creatively, but generous and very tasty. We had a well drink before dinner and it was excellent. Mood lighting makes it a romantic destination for a special event.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ctheworld45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You really can't go wrong with the Terra restaurant in Evanston, IL. Carefully prepared dishes, a fine waitstaff, and a solid wine list await any "gourmand" who appreciates a high level of a dining experience. When we visit with our daughter and son-in-law in Evanston it is the first choice. This August my wife and I will celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary dinner at Terra.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank basquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We went there with 6 people. It was a birthday celebration dinner for my kids. We went on a Sunday night. We got seated at our reserved time. Service was prompt and good. Our waiter was on top of everything. Drinks were served right away. We ordered appetizers dates with bacon which were awesome. These were the only appetizers worth the price of getting. We ordered the pork tacos and there was only two for around 9 bucks. Then we ordered the "special appetizer" of tomato with ricotta with reduced balsamic dressing drizzled on. Funny, for 9 bucks, we received two thin slices of tomato with a side of ricotta and the dressing. I would have thought we could receive a bushel of tomatoes for the price?? This appetizer did not go far. The meals were good. We ordered Jambalaya, meatloaf, filet, salmon, tenderloin tips and a burger. The food was good but small in portions for the price. Dessert was very good and comped for the birthday kids which was a nice gesture.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Bistro, Good food and service”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This relatively new bistro has an interesting and creative menu with a variety of choices. We enjoyed whitefish and tuna. waitress was very personable and helpful. Made it a fun night. Free valet parking. Good place for an enjoyable dinner in the burbs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, IL
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average and Not More”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I went there with fairly high expectations of finding something special ... I came away disappointed. The ambience was pleasant enough and the servers were enthusiastic, but the food did not quite make it. I ordered their signature Bouillabaisse and found it bland and with a few mussels (nice mussels though) and nothing else that I recall. Other dishes were somewhat better, with a nice cheese appetizer. The portions were small. Overall, it was average and not more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra American Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing