We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Espresso in Evanston”

Brothers K Coffeehouse
Ranked #3 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Evanston
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Espresso in Evanston”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The best espresso in Evanston, hands down. Perhaps amongst the best in Chicago.

It makes me smile to see people review espresso places based on decor, service, etc. If you are looking for a truly great espresso there are so few places that can serve this up. If you take milk in your beverage or are happy with any espresso then I can see paying attention to other details. If you drink espresso without milk and appreciate a finer cup then the other considerations are background noise.

These guys know their espresso and do it well. You can tell by their equipment, the use of high end freshly roasted beans, the attention to detail of the barista, that these folks are dedicated to delivering a superior product.

Now take the great product and add the friendliness of the staff and clean bright appearance of the shop and it earns 5 stars in my books.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomerIsTakenDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Shop Ever”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I can't figure out how the brothers, John and Brian, who own this great coffee shop manage to remember everyone's name, but that is part of their charm. The coffee is great and they clearly take pride in their ability to serve a multitude of different drinks. The atmosphere is upbeat and it's a perfect place to kill a few hours on the Internet, talking with friends, reading the paper or just taking in the sights. If you want to know what it feels like to be an Evanstonian, this is the place to start. The staff is unbelievably friendly and they feature the work of local artists monthly. I love this place. For me, I cannot start the day without my morning coffee from Brothers K.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 968JerryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great coffee, fresh pastries, YUM!”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is the very first coffee shop I've ever been to where both the coffee and the pastries are great. If you're one of the few who think Starbucks offers good pastry, Brothers K will show you the wider world of sweets discernment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great local coffee shop!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were introduced to Brothers K by a friend who lives down the street and highly recommend it. They have a great selection of coffee/tea, are super friendly, and in general the place has a great vibe. The locals love it and the store is always packed with people talking, playing games, doing work, etc.

Brothers K is everything a local coffee shop should be. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank middpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brothers K Coffeehouse also viewed

 

Been to Brothers K Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing