We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place in Evanston”
Review of The Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Homestead
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This year we again stayed at the Homestead in Evanston. We had stayed here the last two summers. Again we loved the place.

Homestead is located in a heritage building in the middle of downtown Evanston. The building is very old and by law is required to preserve its exterior looks, and certain architectural details. This is not a luxurious hotel nor is it meant to be. However, it clean, friendly and beautifully located.

The hotel has regular rooms, and also studio, one and two bedroom apartments. For long-term stay one can negotiate a better rate than that published on the site. We were able to get a great rate since our stay was for two weeks.

The rooms (a one-bedroom & a studio for a week each) we stayed in have been refurbished. The only point I would raise is the age of the bathroom fittings. Both our rooms had cracked wash basins. The studio had a bathtub, significantly dated with the enamel worn off near the drain.

I would strongly recommend this place to travellers looking for a clean, well-priced, friendly hotel in downtown Evanston. Most restaurants and our favourite place “Wholefood” is within minutes. The hotel also provides complimentary parking for weekly stay. Parking is in a nearby parking garage.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DR_DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for The Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

A cHarming old property in the heart of town, an easy walk to campus, shopping, restaurants and whole foods. Rooms are worn but well cared for. Kitchenettes and living rooms make it easy to host a family visit. The staff are friendly and helpful. Although the elevator is small and slow the stairs are well lit and easy to use. The garage is a bit of a hike but street parking is also available.
Breakfast was sparse but there were plenty of other options within a short walk. Irons, hair dryers, umbrellas, makeup remover towelettes were among the amenities that allowed us to get through graduation looking our best and in good humor despite 85+ heat and a downpour.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and an updated room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEWscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just completed a two day stay at The Homestead in Evanston Illinois. Our experience was very satisfactory. The hotel has an outstanding location, in a gorgeous neighborhood, just one block away from Lake Michigan and one or two blocks away from downtown Evanston. The hotel itself is an old-fashioned property with character, ample and well appointed rooms, a nice complimentary continental breakfast and a restaurant with an interesting menu (we didn't eat there). Parking at a ramp located one block from the hotel, also complimentary, was very convenient since we did most of our activities within Evanston on foot. Many restaurants are within walking distance and we enjoyed Tapas Barcelona, Flat Top Grill and the Davis Street Fish, Market. The hotel has a pleasant outside porch in front of the building and overlooking the street where it is possible to enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of wine in a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nacho D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We love to hear of your positive experience, and appreciate your feedback! Thank you for mentioning our outstanding location, the character of our property, and the conveniences of your stay. We especially enjoyed hearing your thoughts regarding our pleasant outside porch. We agree that it’s the perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of wine, indeed! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed here during a conference at the university. You can't beat the proximity, within convenient walking distance to most campus locations, as well as downtown Evanston ammenities (Whole Foods, CVS, bookstores). The place has old school touches like real keys. My main gripe is that the walls were incredibly thin, as in I could easily follow the conversations of my next door neighbors. Some rooms have kitchenettes (mine didn't), and the cooking smells can also seep through the walls. Fine if you need to be near campus, but don't be afraid to ask for a different room if the sounds carry over from the adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelogue1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for mentioning our proximity to downtown Evanston, as well as the convenience to Northwestern University.

We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the noise level of your stay. We wish we would have been made aware during your visit so that we could have had the opportunity to rectify the situation. Providing elevated service is extremely important to us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Evanston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Close to Northwestern University. Very tired hotel. Needs new carpets, furniture, fixtures, etc. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Evanston is a nice residential neighborhood and The Homestead is located on a very nice, quiet street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kicker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Imagine yourself as a guest in the large and very traditional and comfortable home of a friend, or maybe in a large family-owned bed and breakfast, white front, white columns. This is the overall impression of the accommodations at the Homestead Evanston, (Hotel) in Evanston, Illinois, located on a residential side street just off downtown. We stayed overnight at the Homestead on May 15, 2014 for the graduation at Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary, as apparently did several others who were attending the same event, as it is perhaps the most conveniently located hotel for these events. Northwestern University is also very close by.

We stopped, temporarily, to unload luggage, on the street, in a small, marked, Homestead Hotel loading zone. Be aware the City of Evanston is, though catering to visitors, is also very strict with parking. Hotel (free) parking is in an enclosed city parking garage about one and a half blocks away. Upon arrival they give you a stamped city parking pass for the garage, very convenient as it turned out, though it was raining. It is 1 ½ blocks off downtown, a Whole Foods Market, and quite a variety of restaurants. Prices are very reasonable.

The hotel can only be described as “very quaint”, older, but very clean and well kept. Rooms were, our first impression, on the small side, but are really about the size of many contemporary hotel rooms. They feature traditional lamps, flat-screen televisions, desk, easy chair, thermostat-regulated radiators, window a/c units, closet, refrigerator, basically every convenience that you would expect in any modern hotel, except a coffee pot, though coffee/tea are available at all hours downstairs.

Interestingly the hotel has an on-site, award-winning, upscale, restaurant, Quince, with a limited, but gourmet menu (think duck-celery root, turnip, salsify, brioche, blood orange, truffle, or bass-scallop croquette, smoked roe, pamelo, chorizo, sorrel, “hewn” artisan breads, a Certified Green Restaurant). Free continental breakfast.

Overall a very pleasant stay, within easy walking distance of everything - and, oh yes, did I say free enclosed parking, (park near the South end of the parking facility).

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We review feedback from online sites like Tripadvisor on a very regular basis. The feedback allows our team to discuss and continue to implement things that are going well, as well as to address things that may provide elevated service if slightly improved upon.

It’s always a treat to read feedback like yours. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate the thoughtful and detailed account. We take pride in being the kind of place that welcomes guests warmly, and provides a clean and well-kept place to relax and find respite.

We’re glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary parking, enjoyed our location and amenities, and hope you get the opportunity to try Quince the next time you’re in town. It’s sure to delight!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you're not big on fussy and pretentious accommodations, then you'll love the Homestead. My daughter and I stayed there for a college visit to Northwestern U. Exhausted after a three-day sporting event followed by the 3 1/2 hour drive from Indianapolis to Evanston, all we asked was this: a hot shower and a soft, clean bed. We got both, plus very sweet staff and that cozy feeling you can only get when you're staying with close family or friends.

The bathroom was truly vintage, but not in a gross way. Black and white subway tiles, a clawfoot tub and really nice smelling soaps and lotions gave you feeling that you were living in a different era.

There's a fancy (5-star) restaurant on the premises, but we skipped that and walked the two blocks to town where there were many fine restaurant options from which to choose. We opted for an amazing noodle joint that has every possible noodle dish you can imagine. But if you like fish or steaks, there are restaurants that do that well, too. If you want to go super chill, there's a Fresh Market (or was that a Whole Foods?) where you could pick up a nice hot meal.

The Homestead's breakfast options were quite adequate -- bagels, cereals, juices, coffee, etc. There may even have been scrambled eggs. Eat at your leisure as you browse through the New York Time and Chicago Tribune. Everything here is done at a leisurely pace, which I love.

The Homestead is a 1 1/2 block walk to Northwestern's Admission office, so it really is the best choice of the available options nearby.

By the time we set off for the tour, I felt recharged and ready to go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We take pride in being a place that is not pretentious, and appreciate you noticing!

Thank you for mentioning our staff, and the cozy feeling that you got while staying with us. We believe that what makes a place special goes well beyond the physical location, and are honored to be part of an experience that reminds you of close family and friends.

We appreciate you mentioning our breakfast variety, our excellent location, and the leisurely pace in which you were able to enjoy it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.5 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1625 Hinman Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: £95 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homestead is a historical hotel, ideally nestled on a residential street just two blocks from both Northwestern University as well as the sandy shores of Lake Michigan. Just a five minute stroll to lively downtown Evanston, we provide our guests with inviting and comfortable accommodations in an appealing, European atmosphere. Each of our ninety guestrooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartment suites have been individually adorned with traditional decor, guaranteeing every guest a unique experience in charming and gracious surroundings. Complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet are included with each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Evanston
Homestead Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing