We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location/beds/sheets but dingy and dated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good location/beds/sheets but dingy and dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

walking (if you are not in a hurry) location to university. and train stations (2) an HOUR on the L to CH due to many stops and transfers. whiolefoods and many many great resaturants nearby, beds were quite good, sheets excellent - did not smell of hotel laundry, no awful bedspreads. all the staff we interacted with were quite nice. The poor comes from reaaaaallyyy dated decor, dingy, bad breakfast, closed pool area our entire 4 day stay, no fridge - all for a waaay to high price. The priceposted that weekend would have garnered a good rating but not at the price I paid . Loud outside (bar that balsts music out and trains every 20 mins+) I had picked a king and sofabed but the sofrabed was for 1 person and had no sheets on it or to be found anywhere in the room. Other coice is 2 doubles (NO Queens) Our room's ac unit does not seem to work. Plus is parking at no additional cost.

Room Tip: downstairs louder, not as good a view, the windows are all glass....in case you have issues with tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwKids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for complimenting the staff and comfortable beds. We try to make each guests stay as comfortable as possible. We are in the process of a renovation so very soon we will be happy to show off brand new rooms, complete with new furniture and lighting. We are also updating the lobby and exterior! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Evanston to see all of the changes we have going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    179
    136
    65
    27
See reviews for
207
82
54
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my daughter's graduation from Loyola Law School. This hotel was approx. 3 miles from the Loyola Campus in Evanston. Pluses: Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, hotel offered free breakfast. Cons: Parking is $14 per day and needs updating. A few restaurants within walking distance but if you have a car, no problem. There are restaurants, drug stores, etc. very close.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We found the staff to be outstanding and so helpful in helping us figure our how to use the EL and taxi systems. The breakfast is very good with lots of selections: waffles, eggs, biscuits & gravy, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and everything worked in the room. We highly recommend this hotel and it is only 2 blocks from the EL and very nice shopping areas surround it. Safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Faustin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Located about 40 minutes away from downtown Chicago by train, this hotel is a good alernative when visiting Chicago. Although the hotel is from another age, the rate is affordable, it includes breakfast and there is a lot of good restaurants in the area.
Train station to downtown Chicago is about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJLauzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanston, illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is very run down, from the parking structure that charges $14/day, to the dated musty rooms. On the positive side, the staff was friendly and breakfast spread was good and generous. Don't expect a high-end Evanston experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Evanston hotels

Chaska MN, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Having stayed at the BW Evanston previously, we are always satisfied with the overall features since we know what to expect. Sam is a gracious greeter and is consistent for all the years we have been coming to this location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KANSAS CIETY
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel room was not cleaned well - there was brown liquid on the back of the toilet ... not the best place to forget to clean. This kind of ruined the rest of the stay because I did not know what else was not clean that I could not see. Otherwise, the stay really was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Address: 1501 Sherman Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-4416 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Our hotel occupies a prime spot along Chicago's North Shore, just four blocks away from Lake Michigan and Northwestern University and close to downtown Chicago sightseeing, tours, museums, restaurants and shopping. This state-of-the-art Hotel features special in room amenities such as Free High Speed Internet Access, Microwave and Refrigerator, 37" Flat Panel LCD TV and Free Local Calls. Whether you are staying with us for Business or Pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our Outdoor Swimming Pool (seasonal), Business Center, Wireless Internet Access in all public areas and Fitness Center. Points of Interests:Companies: Rotary International, Leapfrog Online, ZS Associates Hospitals: Evanston Hospital Universities: Northwestern University (NU), Kellogg School of Management Local Attractions: Northwestern University, Baha'i House of Worship, Navy Pier, Wrigley Field, Shedd Aquarium, Art Institute of Chicago, Willis Tower. The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Plaza Hotel Evanston
Best Western Hotel Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing