We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evanston Orrington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Chicago Heights, United States
1 review
“Evanston Orrington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel and the ambiance was very nice. The rooms were spacious and had very generous closet space. The restaurants were quiet and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. The downside is that the room I was in had the loudest heating/cooling system I had ever experienced-thus the low sleep quality rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Zalina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Zalina, thank you for the comments in your review of the Hilton Orrington. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. In January 2014, the hotel's guest rooms are under going a renovation, and the HVAC system, is one of the areas that is being addressed for improvement.

Thank you again...

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    378
    185
    70
    59
See reviews for
374
126
87
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have breakfast there only once in a while as Wholefood opens only at 8:00AM. I always get the buffet.The staff is alright , it is overstaff as a matter of fact, but there are no excuses for the kind of food they are serving there in the morning. Potatoes are never fresh. Most likely frozen potatoes they are put in the freezer overnight and reheated in the morning. I am not sure what a food inspector would say about that. My guess is that they keep the bacon as well overnight. Scramble eggs are overdone or done in too large quantities at once, and Pastries are terrible.
By comparison at Wholefood near by everything is fresh, made each morning and their Mexican potatoes are delicious, juice is fresh squeeze, I add strawberries to my French toast and I have a great time there every morning. Why is food always an afterthought in this country. I mean you never see a manager ever tasting the food and sending it back to the kitchen when it is not good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Dom P., Thank you for taking time out of your travels to provide valuable feedback on you breakfast experience. While we normally haven't received any negative feedback on the breakfast buffet, I certainly take your comments very seriously. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our chef and her staff, an we will utilize them to rectify all opportunities for improvement.


Mike McGuigan
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were treated well, room was clean. Assistance in finding a quiet room ahead of time was much appreciated. Bar staff and front desk and housekeeping were wonderful. Food was great. Loved the bathroom in the junior suite. Fantastic vanity in the corner with a beautiful shower. Tons of towels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank nwsuburban_cpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the great review, and for choosing the Hilton Orrington. I am certainly glad to see the accomodations met your expectations, and that the staff made your stay a productive one.



Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Check-in time is at 3. We arrived at 1, hoping our room might be ready. They told us to come back in an hour, but no luck at 2 either. At 3, we came back again, and STILL no room. Really? We finally got the room after 4:30.

Parking is valet only - very expensive, and the "15 minute wait" was often more like half an hour. The lot must be in the nearby Burger King, because our car always smelled like french fries.

Elevators are painfully slow. I suggest that when you're going down, you should press the up button and ride both ways.

Our room was very large, but not efficient. We had a living room with a huge board-room like table, but very little sitting space near the television, and no pull-out sofa for our daughter (as had been advertised). There was a minibar (but no key), yet no safe.

Best missing detail: guess what they didn't have in the "Jacuzzi Suite?" You guessed it...a jacuzzi! Not even a tub. Apparently, that's just what they call that room, for some unknown reason.

Very expensive, but one of the very few options within walking distance of Northwestern. And given the competition in Evanston, I may even be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisewoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay during your visit to Northwestern. Our apologies for the confusion on the suite. I have spoken to the staff to ensure that the items you mentioned were addressed. Additionally, the hotel rooms are under going a renovation starting January 2014. By the time you return for another Northwestern Event weekend, the hotel will have a fresh look. Again, my thanks for the review, and we look forward to your next visit, so you can see the new look that we will be putting forward.


Mike McGuigan
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were given a very large hotel room with two double beds. The room was nice, we slept well as the beds were quite comfortable although the pillows were square and small. The table between the two beds was worn; we couldn't figure out how to work the clock to set the alarm (and one of us is an engineer). The room had only one upholstered chair and one desk chair. The flat screen TV (I think it was a 32 inch) was quite small for the size of the room and, because of the distance between the TV and the beds, the screen was hard to see.

The bathroom was tiny with room for only one person at a time.

One plus...I asked for a roll-away bed which was delivered promptly and at no charge. The minus -- no pillows came with the bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indeaugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide great insight into your stay. All feedback is taken very seriously, and will help us improve upon the opportunities in service that were missed. Your comments will be shared with the entire staff, in the ongoing effort to provide extraordinary stays.

Thank you again,

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Across street from Northwestern Univ (good for early morning walks before biz day starts) and located next to lots of shopping and restaurants (for coffee, everywhere). Rooms are most comfortable with thick mattresses. Nothing special about the hotel itself. Commercial, but location and quality are first-rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambagarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on the Hilton Orrington. It's nice to see that you enjoyed a productive stay. The hotel will be undergoing several phases of renovation in 2014, so we hope that you return soon, to see the many changes that will be completed.

Thank you again for choosing Hilton!

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed. Very expensive. The rooms are tiny, bathroom is like a phone booth. Hotel is old and it shows in the room. Pidgeons nesting outside of window which lead to disruptive sleep and early nature calls. I found the front desk to be stuffy and couldn't be bothered. Vending machines out of water. The only thing that was great is the guys who run the valet and location. Would never stay here or recommend this hotel. Waste of money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chaya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our beautiful hotel. I must say that I was quite surprised and disappointed to learn of your unsatisfactory experience at our hotel and that you found our rooms to be somewhat dated and small.

We always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We will use your comments to improve our overall guest experience.

I do hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us. I welcome the opportunity to personally meet and greet you, so you may experience the exceptional stay you deserve.

Sincerely yours,

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing