We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice near Northwestern Univ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Merrick
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great choice near Northwestern Univ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Clean and spacious rooms. A great value. Very convenient to campus and public transportation. The fitness center was so nice. They provides water bottles, ear buds and towels. Nice equipment too. I did not eat at the hotel but there are many dining options within walking distance!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank robinrabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    378
    186
    69
    59
See reviews for
375
126
88
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights while visiting Northwestern. It's in downtown Evanston and puts you within a 3 minute walk to several restaurants, coffee shops, and lots of other things. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the beach. The hotel seems to be in much better shape than when I was in grad school at NU. Loved the mattress; I slept like a baby. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

An older hotel, updated by Hilton, the Orrington offers excellent value for the money. Comfortable room, very helpful and hospitable staff who were responsive to every situation. Five minutes from campus easily reached by taxi (I was there in winter). Two caveats: street side rooms are not for the noise-sensitive. The window shutters allow some light to bleed through. So if you are sensitive to those kinds of things, earplugs and a sleep mask may be needed. A good hotel, I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nettie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Decent sized rooms, well appointed. The bathroom is a bit small, but everything else is reasonably sized. Comfortable bed, and I scored a quiet room despite a late check-in (I got the impression that there are some rooms in the hotel that are fairly noisy). The staff is extremely helpful, and I want to particularly recognize Mr. Batio for his exceptional customer responsiveness.

Valet parking for conferences at the hotel is served from the registration desk. Management needs to be aware of the fact that it is possible for a guest trying to check-in to have to wait for quite a while at the end of the line of people hoping to get their cars. This is an easy problem to solve to avoid annoying customers who merely want to get to their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you need to visit Northwestern (family, business, pleasure) then this is the place for you. It's a 5-10 minute walk from campus.

I got in quite late (past 11pm) so the kitchen was closed. Room service was limited to a few cold sandwich items. However, the staff directed me to a bar across the street that served food late in to the night. If you are coming from the West Coast and you get in late, plan on eating before checking in.

I could tell this was an older renovated hotel, which may bother some but not me. Everything functioned properly but the bathroom was tiny, to the point where sitting on the toilet I felt like I could take a bath.

There really aren't any other options (brandwise) but I might try the HGI next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I often visit Evanston to support the Kellogg Program. The Hilton Orrington has never disappointed. It is conveniently located to the campus with good amenities and excellent service. During my recent stay, for example, I was offered a room upgrade and free "bite and beverage" coupon at the hotel's restaurant (I ordered the Mac & Cheese: creamy goodness, although a bit over cooked but good comfort food on a bitterly cold day). Kudos to the customer-driven hotel staff.

The rooms are well appointed. Since I'm a morning coffee person, I obviously appreciate the room's coffee maker. The bed is very comfortable; the closet and bathroom small but adequate for me. If you're a light sleeper, I'd suggest keeping the thermostat off--if turned on, the unit is loud. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie4Certain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Foodie4certain, thanks for the feedback. it was great to see the staff extended some personal touches to your stay. Comfort food is a much needed touch, during the winter that we are experiencing this year. We look forward to your next visit.


Mike McGuigan
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Has a bit of the old Chicago feel which is charming but the amenities and facilities are just fine. Staff was great. This hotel is at the Northwestern campus so there are lots of visiting faculty and the area is dynamic as well. Safe and clean area and walking distance to the lake. Only gripe is the bed was too soft - personal preference I guess.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Lawrence, thank you for taking the time to provide traveler tips on TripAdvisor. We thank you for your business, and we look forward to your future visits back to the Hilton Orrington.


Mike McGuigan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing