We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel next to Northwestern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The location on the edge of Northwestern makes this very convenient for a visit to the University. I was informed of an upgrade upon check-in (not sure why) but enjoyed a very spacious suite. Everything was clean and comfortable, even though I didn't actually spend much time in the room. Service was efficient and friendly. Wi-Fi required a bit of a login process, but worked pretty well.

For my stay, the best part was being able to walk right onto campus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Fantastic location in downtown Evanston; walk to great restaurants and boutiques/shop. Close proximity to train if you want to head to downtown Chicago. Also very close to lakefront.

The hotel was completely redone when Hilton acquired the property so rooms and public spaces very nicely done. Hotel staff very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel staff were very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate several of my special requests, I was very impressed with Juanita and front desk staff. Generous, welcoming, pleasant and motivated. Thanks to all.
The room itself is very basic, no full length mirror, and an overactive noisy air system. Very ugly view out the window.
Housekeeping staff not so good, had to repeatedly call them to get room serviced each day.
Great location, very near walking distance a Whole Foods at the corner, and a Five Guys great burger and fries at the corner also.
Because of staff it's five star, room itself 3.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mentaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I spent one night here on my way to Oshkosh, this is a standard hotel in a very nice neighborhood right across the street from Evanston Library and Northwestern University.
I found no cons about this hotel except for the valet parking personnel, they are very slow and have no patience to answer if you ask " why I have been waiting 20 minutes for my car ".
In fact I asked and they said nothing nice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank dumi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location of this hotel is right in the downtown area with lots of access to restaurants and stores. It is only a couple of blocks to the water and NWs campus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and the bathroom is even smaller, almost like a bathroom in Europe. Since the hotel is in downtown, it is very loud at night. You hear people talking outside and delivery trucks coming by in the early morning. I used ear plugs to sleep, the only other place where I needed them was London.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family & I spent 2 nights at the Orrington. The entire staff were wonderful, from the guys greeting us at the door to the front desk folks. Lovely. My only complaint was the walls weren't that thick- could hear neighbor hanging items in closet and taking a shower. a little creepy. otherwise no problems

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Hilton Orrington is one of the Best Hotels in Evanston. Rooms are very plush. Comfortable beds with outstanding bedding and excellent amenities. You could not ask for a better location there is plenty to do and eat in walking distance. Staff made me feel at home from day one and as much as I travel that is huge with me. Conference center is top notch. A must stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#6 of 7 in Evanston
225 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: £80 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing