We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveller rating
466
452
226
95
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
452
226
95
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northwestern university purple line valet parking small bathroom nice hotel lake michigan older hotel whole foods walking distance valet service location is great heart of downtown the air conditioning few blocks historic hotel fitness center nu
Filter
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Hotel was average at best, Valet took 45 minutes to retrive my car with no apology casusing me to be late for a business meeeting. Bar and Restaurant were very good with excellent service. Check in and Check out were fine. Rooms need upgrade and bathrooms are tiny as this is an older property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dan,
My apologies for the breakdown in our valet service. it is our goal to ensure that your stay is an exceptional one from start to finish. Unfortunately, our valet service did not provide that during your stay. All guest feedback is consistently reviewed with the staff, and the opportunity we missed with your stay, is unacceptable. Your feedback is extremely valuable in improving our offerings, and the information you provided will be utilized to improve the valet system.
While it was good to see that your stay, outside of valet service, was a good one, I again offer my apology and thank you for providing the review here.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff and valet friendly, attentive! Location central to everything. Easily jog to shore park for long runs. First time to evanston and my room was clean and enormous, corner room with living room , bathroom and bedroom. The room upgrade was superior to the Wit and Conrad. My complimentary waters were not in my room and were immediately delivered. I finally felt like a VIP at this Hilton property, hats off to the management team and staff for this!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Whereismiguelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for the great feedback. It is always a pleasure to host our most frequent Hilton guests.
We look forward to hosting a great stay!!

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Orrington. We look forward to a quick return trip, and the opportunity to host you again.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We've stayed at the hotel twice over the summer and stayed in the suites. They were very nice and provided plenty of room. Everyone from the valet, desk manager and clean people were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained.

A couple items we learned:
1. If you valet, always call ahead at least 20 minutes or more and tip generously.
2. Air conditioning is provide by window units so can be a bit noisy.
3. Rooms on the lower floors can be noisy so ask for higher floors.
4. The hotel seems to have a huge wedding business so if you are staying over the weekend, expect a some commotion in the lobby due to weddings / larger parties.

We really enjoyed Evanston and the hotel so will be back.

Room Tip: Request high floors
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Orrington, in town for a wedding and this was the place slated for out-of-town guests. While we can't argue the location was excellent if you need to be in Evanston, the hotel clearly wasn't; be prepared to pay top price for the Hilton name and location, not for product quality. Our room overlooked a noisy and far-from-scenic concrete display of heating and cooling elements, the air conditioner sounded like an airplane taking off throughout our stay (consider earplugs for a decent sleep) and did I mention the walls are made of cardboard? We really enjoyed hearing our neighbors in their bathroom next door. There is no fridge in the room and the ice bucket is the size of a coffee cup--we ended up using the wastebasket to chill our bottle of wine. The bathroom sink is likewise the size of a coffee cup, probably to fit in the teeny tiny bathroom, so when you brush your teeth, wash your face, shave, etc, water ends up all over the bathroom floor. There are no make-up removing wipes, just a "Deluxe Grooming Kit" which was a cardboard box containing 2 q-tips and a cotton swab. We had to ask for extra shampoo and conditioner our second day because the maid couldn't figure out the miniature containers left in the room would not service 2 adults with hair more than once. These amenities were hardly what we expected from a Hilton in Evanston, especially for what we were paying. And the in-room coffee......yuck! So, to make up for this dreck, a complimentary "Coffee Station" is offered by the front desk. Nice idea, if the staff could manage to keep it stocked and cleaned. By 8AM the second morning we were there, on a Sunday, you could help yourself to some very old coffee, along with some cream product sitting in a bowl of melted ice, no cup lids or insulating holders, or trash container. The entire "Station" was coated with slimy residue and littered with trash. So gross! When I notified one of the 3 staff members behind the front desk of the state of their little coffee buffet, I was told "The lids are probably in the cabinet under the coffee". No one made a move to come out from behind the counter and take care of it themselves--talk about self-service! After I set out lids, disposed of the trash and wiped the counter down, I did tell someone at the front desk they needed to take better care of that little area. At any time, the front desk was staffed with no fewer than 2 employees, yet service was incredibly nonchalant as folks were not exactly hopping to assist customers. For what it's worth, I think this hotel is coasting along on the Hilton brand name and the staff could use a refresher course in the hospitality arts. Surely could be better; will try some other hotel next time in town. We've had better hotel experiences from drive-by last minute exit stops at places like La Quinta and Microtel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a REAL view, REAL walls, a fridge and a quiet air conditioner.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KASCleveland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve. The specific areas of concern, specifically the lack of urgency by the staff, is being addressed immediately. We hope that if your travels bring you back to our area, you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you and make it right.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The location on the edge of Northwestern makes this very convenient for a visit to the University. I was informed of an upgrade upon check-in (not sure why) but enjoyed a very spacious suite. Everything was clean and comfortable, even though I didn't actually spend much time in the room. Service was efficient and friendly. Wi-Fi required a bit of a login process, but worked pretty well.

For my stay, the best part was being able to walk right onto campus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews