We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in the northland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houhora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Houhora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Beautiful B&B to stay at. It reminds you of Frank Lloyd Wright architecture. The room we had was quite nice and comfortable. It had separate entrance both to the front and back of the house, and was just off the great room. Bruce and Jackie are very gracious hosts. They got us dinner reservations for the night, and then served tea and biscuits when we got back home. In the morning they made a very delicious hot breakfast. Their WiFi is quite nice and fast, though for the best strength signal you had to be in the main part of the house.

The B&B is walking distance to the harbor, and also a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Every thing was perfect: beautiful room, outstanding cooked breakfast, and lovely hosts. Bruce took us out to the 90 mile beach and the wild horses: Marvellous!! We enjoyed the Ducks in front of the house. One of the best B&B we ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thanks Andy B, it was a pleasure to have you you both stay and show you around. Thanks for the amazing photo's of our area you have forwarded, you are certainly a talented photographer.
Cheers,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Arrived to a welcome from Jackie who showed us around the Farm stay, Bruce was out cutting the grass, and came in shortly afterwards. As we arrived late we were asked if we wanted an evening meal (payable) I'm glad we did, it was delicious with wine as well. Bruce advised us what we could do in and around Houhora. The house has 3 bedrooms "quote from their website" Two of our spacious guest rooms are on the northern wing and have their own entrances, ensuites ('with the best showers in the country' quoted one guest), TV, king-sized or twin beds, good views over Houhora Harbour and Mt Camel and are peaceful and quiet. The third room is upstairs in the west wing overlooking the duck pond and farmland. It has a private bathroom and is also peaceful and quiet. The beds have excellent quality freshly ironed cotton sheets. It is possible to add an extra single bed to the rooms. We had the Northern end room which has 3 windows, and great views of their property, and surrounding area. Every morning when we woke we heard the sound of the Thrush on the small tree outside our window Singing, the frogs in the ponds were Croaking, and the ducks were Quacking, what more could you want.
Monday we made our way up to Cape Reinga which was something to be seen, as the 2 seas (Pacific & Tasman meet. Bruce suggested not to take the tour bus up 90 mile beach, but just do our own thing by going down the different roads to the beaches, that was a great idea.
Tuesday Bruce arranged with his friends Rubenz & Beulah, his wife To take us to the Great Exhibition Bay, where the White Silica sands are stunning. It was supposed to be a half day trip but we were enjoying ourselves so much it turned into a full day, even though we were charged for a 1/2 day, the day was amazing. As previously stated we went to the White Silica beach, there we were fishing for several hours, had many bites and they got away with line & hooks. At last We caught 2 Stingrays 1 aprx 40 kilos & 1 aprx 20 kilos, they were sure in fighting mode. Due to Maori beliefs they have let stingrays go, which we did. During the time we were there Beulah got out a fantastic spread of food which she had made previously, we were surely spoilt. Then on the way back Rubenz took us for a trip up ninety mile beach, which was awesome. Overall it was an excellent day.
Wednesday morning, Bruce took us to the forest & Ninety Mile beach to see the wild horses, and yes we did see some.
Would I recommend the Houhora Lodge ? Definitely, as Bruce & Jackie are great hosts and make you feel welcome, and the house is basically yours whilst you are there, and let you do most any thing you want.

Room Tip: Go there and see for yourself, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Peterb. Thank you for the write up on our Lodge. We enjoyed having you stay with us and being able to direct you tp some of the special places in our area, and in particular out to Great Exhibition with Reuben and Beulah which you obviously enjoyed. You will have to come back next time you are in New Zealand and catch a big snapper off the beach.
Have a Merry Xmas and Happy New Year.
Cheers,
Bruce M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

As in other reviews, hospitality shown from Bruce and Jacqui was excellent. Bruce provided us with a possible ittineray for our stay which took us to some very nice locations. Dinner and breakfast both excelelnt with good homemade breads and home grown produce. Felt as if we had known them for years, felt perfecty at home. Both joined us for meals, so entertaining evening and good insight into local issues.

Great location for doing the far north area of NZ.

Bedroom was good with nice strong shower and comfy beds. What else would you need?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for your review John, we also enjoyed having both of you stay, you were 5 star guests.
Great photo's too, its fun seeing our area through guests eyes.
Thanks for choosing us as a place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This was a highlight of our NZ trip. We booked in on the strength of other Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The room was spacious, light and airy, immaculate and comfortable. The house is beautiful and Bruce made us so welcome we really felt like part of the family. (Jackie was away.) He cooked us delicious meals and took us on an excursion to 90 Mile beach, found wild horses for us and showed us Houhora Heads. He gave us good advice about where to go on our own explorations and sent us on our way with bags of fresh produce from his garden. This place is not only perfectly located to explore the far north but it's probably the most comfortable and inviting place to stay on the whole peninsula. We feel blessed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjerkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

One of the joys of running a small Lodge is meeting guests from around the world. They arrive as strangers and leave as friends. Thanks for the kind comments guys, and your patience with my dinner times, I really enjoyed our discussions and helping you enjoy our special place in paradise.
Cheers,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

On business or a family retreat in Northland; this is the place to stay. Conveniently located, it is a perfect base to explore the delights of the Far North. I've stayed here on numerous occasions and have enjoyed everyone of them. Whether it is the view of the evening sunset from the dining table or the morning calm as I stroll amongst the olive trees, this place connects me to nature. Bruce and Jacqui are great and their knowledge of the area, invaluable.
Best of all, everything is tidy, neat and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy9622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thanks for your kind comments Jimmy, you are becoming part of the family and we enjoy catching up on each visit.
Cheers,
Bruce & Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Much better location as the starting point to trip around very north of Northland than central part of Kaitaia. Bruce and Jackie were perfect, warm heart and friendly hosts. Especially their cooked meal was so nice. I enjoyed their fresh vegetables, eggs, homemade honey macadamia nuts paste and chilli saurce. Large living room, dining, garden, kitchen and bedroom. They prepare their original trip traveling guide sheet and advised me many good places to visit, it was very simple one piece of paper, but it was much more helprul for me with it and thanks to them, I really enloyed my driving. I would like to recommend this B&B to all people who are going to traveling very north. Though I was a solo traveler, I felt safe there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce M, Owner at Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thanks for your kind words Sue, we really enjoyed having you stay and being able to assist you in your trip to the Far North of New Zealand. We look forward to you coming back in the near future with your cousin
Cheers Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3994 Far North Road, Houhora RD4, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Houhora
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Houhora
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have fled our largest city with Max our Hunterway cross dog to live on the shores of Houhora Harbour in the Far North of Northland, and look forward to sharing this special part of New Zealand with you. Come and enjoy remote coastal walks, shell collecting, Cape Reinga, 90 Mile Beach and other attractions, We can arrange 4x4 trips, quad bike tours, sport or game fishing and provide relaxed and quality accommodation on the return from your days excursions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing