We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houhora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Houhora B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Jacqui and Bruce made us feel like part of the family, in the best possible meaning. Bruce's poached eggs are probably the best on the planet! Cooked to perfection. The breakfast is amazing, worth travelling to New Zealand for. The room is beautifully appointed and well enough away from the action centre of the house to give complete privacy.
Jacqui and Bruce lent us slides for the sandhills. Make sure you do this. We spent the cold nights in cosy fireside chats with our hosts. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed with Bruce and Jacqui in December 2012. We had one of the downstairs rooms, including a put-u-up bed for our 12 year old daughter. The accommodation was very comfortable, we enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Lodge one night (including Bruce's home made bread) and the other night we ate at the local pub in Pukenui - perfectly acceptable pub grub.

Our daughter had fun feeding the ducks, I was eased awake in the morning by the local frogs (they really do say "ribbit"), and Max the dog was a comforting presence around the place.

The highlight of our trip was the day we spent with Reuben and Beulah - a couple of hours at Great Exhibition Bay (which is absolutely gorgeous, completely deserted and would have been impossible to get to under our own steam), lunch and a swim at Tapotupotu Bay, a quick trip to Cape Reinga and then some dune surfing near 90 Mile Beach. All the while Reuben kept us fascinated with stories about his amazing life and his (and Beulah's) extended family. A priceless experience, and we've been dining out on it ever since.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This was a great place to base yourself to visit the far north. We were given loads of really helpful advice about where to visit. The only trouble was that compared with other accommodation in NZ the price was pretty high so we only stayed for one night when 2 would have been better to fit everything in.
The hosts went out of their way to look after us- we were given a tray of tea, biscuits, cheese and crackers as soon as we arrived. Everything had been thought out to the last detail- suggesting that we drive around the back to unpack the car, etc.
We also ate in the evening with them. This is something that you should do if staying as the food was excellent and mostly sourced in their back garden!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We thought this B&B was just what a B&B should be: nice place, nice host that make you feel home, good piece of advice to visit the area, good food... I recommend having dinner there (and there is not much option in the area anyway), the food is great and a lot is home made. The olive oil and the foccacia bread was so good. Follow their recommendation, your trip up north, the with silica beach and the wild horses were all fantastic. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The location was great and the hospitality of Bruce and Jacqui was terrific. They were very helpful and friendly. Jacqui made me my favourite herb tea, arranged a ATB for my husband and loved to play with our very young kids. We borrowed slides to go to the Sand Dunes and had a blast with the water sile we played with in their magnificent garden. Therefore we loved staying at Houhora logde because it was the perfect place for us to explore the Northerd part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRas5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Everthing was perfect, great hosts, delicious breakfast, perfect location for northland discovery tours. We specially loved the 90 mile beach tour with wild horses and the ducks-feeding-adventure.
Thanks to Bruce and Jacqui.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We spent the most enjoyable four days with Bruce & Jacqui in their beautiful home set in extensive gardens in a quiet location within easy reach of a nice restaurant, shops and the harbour. We really appreciated their warm welcome and lovely hospitality.
The breakfast and the dinner were outstanding! During our stay, we could make friends with other guests from different countries and enjoyed their company and the discussion. We had the upstairs room with a private bathroom down the hall. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable.
Bruce took us for a drive to 90 mile beach and to the woods and the wilderness where we were able to see lots of wild horses from up close, which was really exciting and an unexpected experience for us. We had another special experience, Bruce & Jacqui arranged with their Maori friends to take us in a 4WD to Great Exhibition Bay, where the beach looked like a snow- covered land because of the silica sand. The Maori couple Rueben and Beulah and their relatives were very nice and kind people and we liked them very much. We were able to chew the raw clams which they dug up from under the water on the beach. They also roasted clams on the beach which were delicious.
We loved our stay at Houhora Lodge and wished we could have stayed longer, and look forward to staying with Bruce & Jacqui again. We'll never forget all their kindness which they showed us during our stay with them.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomiTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houhora
0.0 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.0 mi away
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Pukenui Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Pukenui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pukenui Holiday Park
Pukenui Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Pukenui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast

Property: Houhora Lodge & Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3994 Far North Road, Houhora RD4, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Houhora
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Houhora
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have fled our largest city with Max our Hunterway cross dog to live on the shores of Houhora Harbour in the Far North of Northland, and look forward to sharing this special part of New Zealand with you. Come and enjoy remote coastal walks, shell collecting, Cape Reinga, 90 Mile Beach and other attractions, We can arrange 4x4 trips, quad bike tours, sport or game fishing and provide relaxed and quality accommodation on the return from your days excursions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing