We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice first time”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fairview Heights
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's hard to do a review when you don't really have a choice in a place because of work but had to give a little praise to this Comfort Suite. Great reception and front desk and wonderful staff. Jessica was a breath of fresh air compared to most people who work the front desk. Friendly, informative, and just extremely pleasant. You're not staying trump plaza folks, but a descent pool and work out facility which is a nice option for boring evenings. Great location if you are heading to St. Louis and close to restaurants and a mall. Excellent choice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank lisarenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The room was very dark, even with all the lights on in the room. The bed was comfortable, tv channels were plentiful, and the free wifi was consistent and fast. The hotel was pretty quiet. I didn't hear much if any noise from people in the hall or next door. The elevator is extremely slow. Parking was a bit of a challenge returning late one evening. I think I got the last parking spot - there were several vehicles that were towing trailers that did take up several extra spots.

Breakfast was tasty enough for me, but I'm not a picky eater. Options changed daily. One thing I did notice was that biscuits were cold and not in a warmer. They did have a microwave if wanting to heat one up.


The bathroom was ok. I was surprised to have a small round toilet, rather than the larger oval bowls that most hotels I have stayed in have. The towel rack is in the shower. Towels didn't get too wet, but I consciously tried to avoid them getting wet. The shower rod must be too heavy or installed incorrectly as screws were loose and it was sagging down. I'm just over 6 feet tall and my entire head was over the sagging bar. When mentioning this at checkout, they said they knew exactly what I was saying as soon as I said shower curtain rod. so it must be a frequent problem in lots of rooms. The light fixture in the bathroom was full of bugs and the vent was covered in dust.

I did have troubles with my a/c one night. I mentioned to the front desk at checkout and was met with they have trouble keeping up with the heat. However, it was the coolest and least humid night that gave my a/c trouble. I think some of it had to do with the filter being caked full of dirt/dust.

This hotel has a weird safe fee for a dollar and change. I've never seen a safe fee broken out on a folio like this property has. It was removed when questioned.

I did see several people with pets. I didn't ask anyone, but it doesn't seem like they have pet specific rooms and that a pet may wind up in any room in the hotel. I overheard one guest checking with 2 dogs if they'd rather have the 2nd or 3rd floor. Those with pet allergies may just want to be careful with staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mountturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on July 14th passing through towards Tennessee. We stayed here on points but would have willingly paid for the room. The front desk clerk was professional and friendly. The room itself was very large and clean. The hotel itself is set off the main drag a bit making it quiet yet right in the heart of all the good restaurants. Would and will stay again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good quality hotel. Ample pool area. Loved the larger room options to accommodate our whole family while setting aside space for wife and I.

The location is great! Lots of restaurants, theaters, night spots, and shopping mall all on your doorstep to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank j2362482b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel, because I believe everyone deserves a second chance. I won't stay again though. I can't understand why this hotel has such good reviews because on both visits I found it to be quite dirty. The rugs were stained with what looks like it could have been blood. There were hairs in the shower and the corners in the bathroom were dirty. I didn't dare go on the murky pool. I will be looking for a different hotel on my frequent trips to the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank DeciduousLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on June 24 and it was just horrible. The front desk area was nice and the front desk clerk was nice but the hallway to rooms were moldy musty and gross the room was same way, breakfast buffet was just ok! Not worth the money to stay there. Hampton Inn across road is just $4 more and much nicer.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a great retreat and location to launch from for visiting the area. We stayed here on two recent visits including 8 continuous nights and rested very well. The location is within walking distance of several name-brand restaurants which provides good options. There is also a movie theatre a short walk or drive away. This hotel is set back and does not have major highway frontage while remaining close to major highway accesses. We are impressed with the staff and pleasing decor, and the rooms are roomy. The price is very reasonable and the nice atmosphere is priceless. We are recommending this hotel to friends and family and do not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the back (north side) of the hotel as it faced a pleasant green space that incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah_L380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairview Heights
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fairview Heights
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fai...
#1 of 10 in Fairview Heights
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis-Fairview Heights
Holiday Inn St. Louis-Fairview H...
#2 of 10 in Fairview Heights
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Fairview Heights
Four Points by Sheraton Fairview...
#5 of 10 in Fairview Heights
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Fairview Heights
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Fairview H...
#4 of 10 in Fairview Heights
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview...
#8 of 10 in Fairview Heights
117 reviews
5.5 mi away
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 137 Ludwig Dr, Fairview Heights, IL 62208-1334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Fairview Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fairview Heights
Price Range: £63 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Fairview Heights
Comfort Suites Fairview Heights
Fairview Heights Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing