We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Foa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We travelled all over the Pacific (Easter Island, French Polynesia, Samoa, Fiji, Tonga) and had many forms of accomodation and nice beach bungalows, but Sandy Beach at Foga was the place we liked most of all. They have done everything to take care that it is just you and the fabulous beach&sea (no TV, no screaming kids, no nothing). Every bungalow faces directly the sea. At several periods we were the only two at this perfect beach (white sand).
Stay away if you need disco's or partying.
Highly recommended !
Nico&Joyce

Room Tip: All bungalows are the same, and all face the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This resort is lovely. The rooms are western style, in a relatively remote location. I appreciate the amount of work that must have happened to make this a reality. We take so many things for granted as a western society - Flushing toilets and warm showers etc.

The rooms are average western quality. They have a ceiling fans, high ceilings but no air-conditioning. Plenty of room for couples and a nice verandah, all with good ocean views.

The other services offered by the resort include free kayaks, snorkelling and free clothes washing if you stay for three days or more.

The meals were hit and miss. One night the meal was horrible and no one at our table could eat even half of their meal, the others nights were ok. Matafonua up the road has better food, greater variety and cheaper prices. Just wander up and see Darren and Nina and let them know if you would like dinner.

The dog called ‘doggie’, was a bit noisy at times barking to protect his territory. He was the fattest dog we saw in Tonga. Doggie has a good life!

The snorkelling from the resort is ok. But it’s better to wander up the road and snorkel in the lagoon on the other side of the island. On the up side the sunsets from the resort with the sun setting into the ocean are beautiful.

Our main problem with the resort was the transfers to and from the airport. Such a small problem but a last impression of the place. We had a flight later in the afternoon but had to be transferred with the passengers on the earlier flight as they only offer the one transfer. This meant wasting hours at the airport (with no facilities) when the hotel is only about 20 mins away. All we can work-out is they just didn’t want to make two trips. Since we were paying for the transfer this was an issue for us. So if you stay here catch the earlier flight out to save you waiting at the airport with nothing to do.

Overall nice resort in a part of the world that is amazing and unspoilt but could be more accommodating especially consider the price paid. We have stayed at Matafonua before and if you don’t mind sharing a bathroom, this is a better option overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had a wonderful time spending a week here. The position is fabulous: clear turquoise water, snorkeling at a number of coral reefs a lazy paddle off the beach, swimming in the calm lagoon water, well appointed bures which catch the breeze and so stay cool even on hot days and lots of hammocks at the beach edge slung under shady trees. The staff were great, friendly and helpful and with only a dozen bures, the atmosphere is personal and uncrowded. And the swimming with the whales off a yacht was an unforgettable experience. Very highly recommended in all ways

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank honeymaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Could have stayed longer. Great food. Friendly staff. Whale swimming. Free use of kayaks. Rooms comfortably furnished. Beach frontage. Reef at front door for snorkelling. Beach chairs and towels supplied. Hammocks. Would return.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Jurgen, Peta and all the staff were wonderful. Very friendly and efficient. The resort is a paradise. The diving, whale watching and snorkeling are all superb and the resort has a terrific atmosphere. All guests there at the same time as us became friends and we all thoroughly enjoyed our dinners under the stars. Meals are excellent and there are delicious snacks available all day. (their chips are especially good). We stayed there for 7 days in September and had a fantastic time. Well done Jurgen and all your wonderful staff. Pat and Jack Perth Australia

Room Tip: All rooms are on the beach and equally good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at Sandy Beach for 8 nights and if you want a very quiet relaxing holiday in a pristine location Sandy Beach is the place to stay. The water is crystal clear, great snorkeling with a variety of coral and heaps of fish life is a short swim off the beach. The kayak's were free to use and easily maneuvered in the calm water. Besides swimming with the wales there is no other programmed activities, which is OK if you just want to do your own thing and relax. You can organize scuba diving/ cultural village visit with the other resort close by. The accommodation is clean and basic, no air con, a ceiling fan that either runs very fast or very slow. I feel the polyester sheets that are in use are not suitable for such a hot climate. The nights do not cool down very much and I found sleeping difficult due to the heat. I feel cotton sheets would have helped. The bed was very comfortable. The meals are very basic and they do not have a variety to pick from. The fish meal is either parrot fish or lobster, the meat dish is usually beef stroganoff/ goulash which was not very nice. I suggest re doing the whole meal plan that incorporates different seafood dishes/ salads/ steaks/ etc. They do not cater for vegetarians very well, a lady that was staying with us was given only potato and carrot as a vegetarian meal!! I suggest you do not purchase the meal plan as it gives you the option to go to the other resort to have meals which offer a better variety of meals, snacks and deserts. The deserts at Sandy beach are very basic, Fruit salad and ice-cream most nights. Jurgen the owner of Sandy Beach I did not feel was particularly welcoming, he did not introduce himself when he met us at the airport and did not speak to us on the ride into the resort. I felt this would have been the ideal time to discuss the Tongan culture and life on the island and to set the tone of the resort. I feel Jurgen is struggling a bit with the resort, he is in his mid seventies and I feel he is not capable at the moment of allowing Sandy Beach to be the amazing place that it could be. Sandy Beach has been advertised a child free resort, however while we were there 2 families had children. I feel that if it is advertised as child free then it should be! I think Sandy beach has the potential to be totally amazing, it already is surrounded by the most beautiful calm beach I have ever seen, just a couple of changes with management and menu Sandy Beach would be the place you would return to each year.

Room Tip: All the rooms look the same and they all have the same aspect to the beach
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank purplemarie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went to Sandy Beach, mainly, to go and swim with the humpback whales and to relax. on both counts we were not disappointed. Jürgen tries his best to meet everyones expectations and with us he succeeded. The whale watching/swimming with Matt and Jody on their yacht was the icing on the cake.
The resort is very relaxed and the beach is perfect and we had unfounded reservations about being given fale 01, being so close to the resturant and terrace but after dinner all was peaceful. Privacy was ensured by the positioning of the fales.
The menu is limited but very tastefully prepared and wishes can be made if you have any preferences.
The dive resort is not open yet so I had to go to the next resort but it was great and both belong to Jürgen so it was easy to use the facility.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and a visit to the church on Sunday shouldn't be missed.
The only problem was "Real Tonga", the local airline, who seem to fly whenever they feel like it causing the hoteliers a lot of problems.
All in all it was fantastic and something to remember, positively, for ever.

Room Tip: We found that all rooms were more or less the same there is no AC in any of them but in 01 there was...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foa Island
0.3 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
#13 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Serenity Beaches Resort
Serenity Beaches Resort
#1 of 2 in Uoleva Island
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keleti International Resort
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: Absolute Beach Front | Ha'apai, 4711, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Ha'apai Islands > Foa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Foa Island
Price Range: £162 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled right on the most beautiful beach, Sandy Beach Resort consists of only 12 absolute beachfront Bungalows, so privacy and solitude is guaranteed. All Bungalows have spacious ensuites with solar powered hot water showers and a furnished private terrace facing the ocean.The beach is just footsteps away from the door. The perfect place to relax, unwind and recharge. No crowds, no queues, no TV, no nightclub … pure island life ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Ha`Apai Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing