We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to visit”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Shalfleet
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to visit”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have visited The New Inn many times, usually by boat from the nearby quay at high tide. This time I visited by road with a group of 14. They have a large menu - I had a crab baguette which was lovely. My friend had a fish finger sandwich which had absurdly thick bread so was difficult to eat. I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmandsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    142
    70
    55
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great dining”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we were on a short break on the isle of wight and on our first night last monday we decided to splash out and picked the new inn and boy we were not dissappointedwe all had steak and it is all local produce which made it even better the steaks and veg and potatoes were beautifuland remy martin cognac to finish was really the icing on the cake if you are on the island try and get there its worth it

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boothstownbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great locally sourced food”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is an understated stylish pub with an extensive menu, including a fresh daily menu with a lot of locally sourced fish dishes (crab and lobster are there too!). In fact the chef makes a point of sourcing all his ingredients from across the Island. The decor is simple - scrubbed pine tables and service is fine, though not overly attentive. We were there at 6.30 on a Friday evening in early June and it was not crowded but clearly was going to get pretty busy as the evening went on. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and booking would probably be advised. I had a trio of fish with mussels in white wine cream source served with delicious fresh vegetables and my husband enjoyed a steak and ale pie - he rated it 10/10. My mother had Thai fishcakes which came with a delightful salad and lovely chunks of very fresh granary bread. The desserts were good too - creme brûlée and panacotta featured and were enjoyed by us, but there was plenty of other choices. I'd definitely go back if we have another visit to the Island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoventryFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New Inn - Same Old, Same Old”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After reading the rave reviews about the New Inn Shalfleet we booked a table for six and had an early dinner with family. The pub was quiet and felt cold in both atmosphere and temperature.

The menu was very mixed with nothing really appealing standing out. The confit duck leg was dry and overcooked and the rest of the food was unremarkable.

The drinks were fairly expensive, think London prices.

On the whole it was OK but we were left feeling disappointed as we had expected so much more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal & Made to Feel Very Welcome”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

As you enter this pub the staff make you feel at home straight away and tables are purposely well spaced for added comfort. Everything is done with relaxation and comfort in mind - even having a very gentle word with a family who couldn't be bothered to even try to get their son to behave, leaving the rest of us to suffer. This is extra brownie points from me!

We started with the local crab & prawn salad and moved on to the belly pork. All superbly presented, with veg & meat perfectly cooked. Local ice cream comes via The IoW creamery and even this non ice-cream lover like it, that's how good it is.

The real ales are very good too. Drinks are a bit pricey, but if you want cheap, go find a Wetherspoons.

Helpful?
Thank bluemoonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Shalfleet, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing