We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time on the boat”
Review of Jet Funn

Jet Funn
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Fox Lake
Attraction details
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good time on the boat”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Rented a pontoon for the day. The staff was great, super helpful and made sure we understood the lakes and all of the rules of the water. Would defiantly use them again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ingleside, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kevin is the snake he's going to scam you he enjoys charging your credit card”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We rented a couple of wave runners make sure you don't leave the area set for you. Ha make sure you look it over before you rent it note all the scratches or marks. That's right or your paying for something you didn't even do. SNAKE ... BE CAREFUL HERE!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank HaroldC533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinoi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“enjoying the chain of lakes in a nice rental boat”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Second time renting a deck boat to enjoy the chain of lakes area. Great lakes to enjoy with lots of cool homes and things to see and nearby restaurants and bars like Blarney Island on Grass Lake! The staff was helpful and went through the whole process. I like the deck boat, but they also rent other types of boats such as pontoon boats and wave runners as well. Convenient location in Fox Lake just off route 12.

The Jet Funn staff provided a well used and slightly tattered laminated map of the chain with several shallow areas and hazards to look out for. However, conditions change and many areas on the chain are quite shallow and submerged obstacles are frequent. Had the unpleasant experience of paying for a new propeller due to an unforseen sandbar at least 30 yards off shore. Would definitely warn potential boaters that this could be an unforseen hazard that is difficult if not impossible to completely avoid even if you stay in the middle of each lake. Could have been worse if the skiff or more of the bottom of the motor was damaged.

Also, would be aware that there were at least several law enforcement boats that were in busy operation around the chain and Fox river as well.

The boats as expected for busy well used rentals had some relatively minor dings and wear and tear which the Jet Funn staff marked and seemed pretty reasonable about considering they are boat rentals. However, one would be wise to take a few before and after pictures of the boat during the rental process just to be careful. Adequate life vests were provided and they had ski vests which are a bit more comfortable available, but I would bring my own life vests if you have a preferred one as they are required for all passengers.

Not everyone has the time, effort or $$ to own and maintain a boat on the chain. So despite the expense, for someone like me who might only get out once or twice a season on a boat like this, it is nice to have a place like Jet Funn available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Save your money.....Stay away.......Scammers !!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Please stay away from this shady business......

Kevin is a scammer !!!!

Took our wave runner to be fixed....was suppose to take 2 weeks and cost $2000 - $2200 .......took almost 4 weeks and cost $3000. First, I paid for a 2 year warranty and he only purchased a 1 year warranty......also charged me for gaskets and oil that were included in engine purchase from SBT...then they damaged side of machine and never said a word, after bringing it to their attention put a grey patch on a red ski, that's it........First time taking ski out it broke !!!! .....charged me more money.......then it breaks Again ....... now it is missing huge bolts and the oil injection lines were not installed properly .......Motor needs to be replaced .......now I have to find another mechanic.....would never trust Kevin to touch my machine again. This cost me another $500

Please stay away from Jet Funn......unless you have lots of time and money to waste !!!!!

This is an Awful business.....do not want anyone to go through what we did.......Stay Away !!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Way overpriced.”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

wanted to rent a pontoon boat for the day. the location is great buy the prices were sky high. shop around. you can do better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank beth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jet Funn also viewed

 

Been to Jet Funn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing