We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit Of Paradise...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agios Ioannis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelion Country Villas-Theodorides Estate
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Little Bit Of Paradise...”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After a stressful journey (largely of our own making) down from Thessaloniki, and with only three full days to enjoy the widely documented delights of this beautiful region, Pelion Country Villas were the factor that boosted our short stay from merely average to excellent.

The atmosphere at the estate was relaxed in the extreme and almost immediately took the edge off the journey down, and it was evident that a lot of thought had been put into creating and maintaining the chilled out vibe.

The proprietors Mary and Andreas went to great lengths to make sure we were comfortable and there was a feeling that nothing was too much trouble for them in that regard. The staff were similarly helpful and communication was not an issue for a family of Brits who spoke no Greek and were visiting Greece for the first time.

The swimming pool was literally picture perfect, deep and cool with a gorgeous - breathtaking in fact - outlook across the Aegean Sea. There was room to relax around the pool with shade for those liable to crisp in the sun.

Facilities in the villa were more than adequate for our needs, and the villa itself was cleaned on a daily basis. Our hire car was securely parked in a spacious bay on the flat... and you just need to drive the area around to fully appreciate the value of that statement!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schwabisch Hall, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Eastern Pelion is spectacular and Theodorides Estate is a unique gem. We visited them in June when it was peace and quiet full of beautiful flowers. The whole ambience exudes natural beauty, class and warm hospitality. Our suite was wonderful revealing respect to the environment and the guests feel at home from day one. It was our first time in Greece so we were really overwhelmed with the landscape, the thick vegetation, the crystal clear sea and the tranquillity of the place.
The owners’ witty humour conduced to a warm and relaxing atmosphere. The shutters of the windows and the comfortable mattresses helped us have a good night’s sleep after long walks in the kalderimia (walking paths). The maid ensured we had everything we needed and kept our suite spotless clean.
A good-natured assistant helped us carry our luggage to the suite and despite the fact he could not speak English well he was most helpful and kind. We enjoyed swimming and snorkelling in Plaka beach where the trees reach the sea, which is abundant of fish! There is a big variety of tavernas in Agios Ioannis within walking distance from the Estate, so we had plenty of choice and at very reasonable prices.
On the whole we had a fantastic holiday and hope to return soon to this magical place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Michaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the owners of this very well kept estate. Manicured gardens and exquisite flowers adorn the homestead and it's apartments. A grand swimming pool sits in the heart of the property which overlooks a sparkling ocean.

Much beauty and peace abound, becoming a very important part of our 5 night stay, however there are certain shortfalls that prevent this otherwise gorgeous place from fulfilling all arenas of a vacation of this calibre. Loungers around the expansive pool are in need of umbrellas which would offer shade from the sun which shines for most part of the day on this area. The poor water pressure in the very small shower resulted in a frustrating daily cleaning ritual which was not able to be resolved. Cleaning of rooms each 3rd day also was not conducive to a relaxed vacation. This rule seemed somewhat out of sorts in relation to what was expected from such a well run and pristine property.

Beaches and excellent restaurants are close enough to walk to. Lovely owners.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aquacapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelioncountryvillas, General Manager at Pelion Country Villas-Theodorides Estate, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We would like to thank this reviewer for describing our Estate beautiful and in a perfect setting with welcoming owners. However we would like to clarify a few points.
This particular family booked a standard suite maisonette whereby one of the rooms was for teenagers. Since they were two couples they could have booked two different suites as we had offered them with a Jacuzzi shower/toilet. The supply of water on that particular day did not depend on us but on the mains of the village. Evidently they chose the cheaper option and asked us to join the two single beds intended for teenagers.
The Estate offers self catering villas/suites not a 5 star hotel rooms where sheets are changed everyday and to preserve the environment if guests stay for 5 days they have an option either the 3rd day or the second day for change of sheets. When asked they chose the 3rd day. Usually our European guests are very sensitive to the environment and want change after the 3rd day. But our American and South African clients it seems they expect change every day. If so they could have requested it and ask the maid to do so.
When asked if they wanted their luggage picked up from the rooms by the helper to the car again they chose to do it themselves.
Regarding umbrellas there is a huge beautiful Pergola next to the pool where guests have the option to stay if they want shade. For the safety of the guests we do not put umbrellas above the loungers to avoid accidents caused by unexpected winds.
We should also sadly point out that in our Estate we kindly ask guests to report any breakage or damage. In this particular case no breakage of glasses or plates was reported and no mention of damaging towels irreparably with suntan lotion and other creams.
We kindly ask guests to bring their own beach towels but these guests did not and after seeing the white towels stained, we provided them with our own beach towels.
It is very sad when certain guests reassure you that everything is perfect and not only they are delighted with the Estate but they invite you to their country too!!! We believe in good will criticism because it is very constructive and we always try to improve and keep our standards high. We thank all our guests for acknowledging our efforts to keep them happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Superlatives come thick and fast whenever anyone discusses or writes about the Theodorides Estate and every one of them is well merited. My wife and I have just returned from spending two weeks in paradise (our second visit). We were very early in the season and pretty much had the Estate to ourselves and enjoyed the almost undivided attention of Mary and Andreas. They are marvellous company and once again catered for our every need. We are so grateful to them for making our holiday such a great success. If you want to experience heaven on earth, this is the place to visit.

Room Tip: Achilles has an excellent view of the sea between the trees from the balcony & the bedroom below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Paradise Found!

You cannot but fall in love with Theodorides Estate from the time you take the turning to the country road in the forest! You feel that you start becoming one with nature as you cross the two streams before you arrive at the Grand Gate where the special hosts welcome you so warmly! We visited them at the end of August when St Mary’s festival had finished and Aghios Ioannis was quiet again. The nearby beaches were almost deserted during weekdays and our favourite Plaka beach was a bliss! The Estate is a unique spot in Eastern Pelion because it is within breathtaking distance from the beach and the big variety of restaurants. The whole ambience is exotic with intoxicating scents and the sea breeze is rejuvenating. We did spot the dolphins early in the morning and saw saw the huge old frog at the gate (they seem to have had him for years!), two badgers and a few tortoises.
Our suite was immaculate in the traditional Pelion style and the views magical. The Estate is surrounded by Palms, Beech and Plane trees but also by fruit trees especially lemon and fig trees to which we were kindly treated.
The hospitality of the hosts is second to none and we were provided with a special information leaflet for sightseeing and path walking which we love.
We had a memorable and fantastic stay in this paradise and intend to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Mama Mia!!
What a paradise! No wonder why the producer of “Mama Mia” chose Pelion, this spectacular spot in Greece for a significant part of the film! In fact Theodorides Estate is like a setting in a film, in an idyllic and tranquil location with exotic views of the Aegean, Mount Athos and the Sporades! We visited the Estate in early September to have a feel of what it was like in the area that enticed so much the producer of the film!
Pelion is ideal for walking and beach lovers full of luscious landscapes and a rare combination of mountain and sea.
Our suite was in a beautiful rustic Pelion style with a modern bathroom and high standard amenities. A plunge in the eco pools in the morning was invigorating and relaxing. The local restaurants only a breath away offered a great variety of delicious dishes. We particularly liked Akrogiali restaurant, where the English speaking Christos and Apostolis were very helpful and friendly. We would like to thank the special hosts Mary and Andreas for their generous hospitality and for sharing their beautiful Estate with us. We highly recommend this unique spot to all discerning travellers and hopefully we shall visit them again!
Linda

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I came with my family last August to the Theodorides Estate. We were 6 people and took 2 villas. First of all, the hospitality was the best I could expect. Mary and Andreas were kind, warm and tried to help us in everything and anyway we could think about to create for us the perfect stay. As I had celebrated my Birthday on that week, they helped my husband arrange a party near their pool. It was beautiful!
The villas are nice and clean and the garden is amazing. The location is perfect - not among the crowd but yet, close enough to the beaches and village.
It was an excellent vacation and I would recommend the place with all my heart to family and friends!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#1 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefto
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manthos Blue Hotel
Manthos Blue Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sofokles Hotel
Sofokles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eleana & Marina Hotels
Eleana & Marina Hotels
#1 of 9 in Agios Ioannis
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agapitos Villas & Guesthouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelion Country Villas-Theodorides Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelion Country Villas-Theodorides Estate

Property: Pelion Country Villas-Theodorides Estate
Address: Pelion, Agios Ioannis 370 12, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Agios Ioannis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Agios Ioannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Pelion Country Villas-Theodorides Estate in Agios Ioannis Village, Pelion the "Summer Resort of the Olympian gods". An Unspoilt,Idyllic, Tranquil Retreat surrounded by Streams,Chestnut, Palm,Olive trees and lovely gardens ! Unique combination of Forest and 3 turquoise beaches within walking distance.Spectacular Sea-views and Traditional,Pelion rustic style accommodation with a wonderful Swimming pool for adults and one for children.An ideal place with an exotic ambience for Nature Lovers, Path walkers and the DiscerningTravellers, who seek tranquility,High quality accommodation and a warm welcome. Not suitable for people with mobility problems. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelion Country Villas-Theodorides Estate Hotel Mouresi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing