We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel in a wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofokles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofokles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have just come back from a weeks stay in this hotel, and despite the Trip Advisor rating feel that this hotel should be given consideration if you are looking to stay in Agios Ioannis. Despite some of the previous negative reviews we found nothing that didn't meet our expectations. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable (especially for greek standards), and the breakfast was more than adequate for a weeks stay and the view from the breakfast terrace overlooking the sea was a perfect start to the day. The hotel has a small swimming pool which we used once. The pool area has some very nice sun loungers, and tables and chairs overlooking the sea and excellent if you wish to have a break from the beach. The staff were excellent and very friendly, albeit that some of them didn't speak very much English, but sign language worked well! This is not a 4 star hotel, and does not pretend to be so, and I therefore do not think you would be disappointed if you stayed at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay at this resort.

There are three beaches to choose from and each have their own variances. They are all mostly small pebbles (and shingle), but did change to sand when we were there following an overnight heavy storm which brought more sand on to the beaches, therefore this is why you may see the beaches advertised as sand in some brochures/on-line, and pebbles in others.

The drive from Volos to Agios Ioannis is interesting! We hired a car and drove to the resort, but the drive is challenging and if you choose to drive, try to keep to the main road even though there are other routes to the resort. The route is over Mount Pelion and down the other side and consists mainly of hair pin bends rising up and down the mountain. The views are spectacular (if you dare to look) but don't let this put you off, as once you arrive you will be charmed by the resort and the local people. If you do not wish to drive, other holiday makers we spoke to had organised a taxi which we understand was in the region of 65 Euros. This hotel is also in some holiday brochures, but we found it cheaper to book direct.

Room Tip: Would suggest that you pay extra to have a sea view as the hotel is right on the sea front, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    15
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

July 2013. My husband and I and two daughters booked 2 downstairs rooms next to each other in the hotel which opened out onto a patio area facing the sea. We couldn't have had a better view! The sound of the ocean was so lovely to wake up to in the morning.
The rooms are fairly basic but I understand that's typical of most hotels in this area. The location of the rooms and the view we had made up for the basic standard of the rooms. They were very clean and had everything we needed.
We received first class service from the family owners who couldn't do enough for us.
As we were there for my brother's wedding they even organised (and translated) our hairdresser appointments in our rooms.
We had a really memorable stay and one we will always remember fondly,

Room Tip: I recommend the front of the hotel (downstairs rooms) that have patios looking straight out to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked a room at this hotel at August 2013 , we paid about 100,00 euros per day and we thought that we would stay at a 4 star hotel.When we arrived we searched for the private parking in the hotel area as it was written on the website info , but then the owner told us that we have to park our car outside in the public road in an area with not enough free space, because eventually the hotel had no private parking.
When he showed us the room we saw a tiny room with 2 separate beds (we asked him a double bed) , with an awful bathroom ,without a balcony just a window which faces the wall. The window didn’t have a clothes horse, so I asked him where to put my wet towels or swimsuits and he told me I could dry them in the public hotel area, on the pool handrails . Our room could not connect on the internet. I went to the reception and asked him to change our room with another which at least had a balcony ,but he told me in a very rude way that he didn’t have any empty room ,but I knew there were many empty rooms. When I decided to leave my luggage’s to our room , I realize that the card system was broken and we didn’t have electricity , I went for second time in the reception and asked him to send someone to fix it ,then he sent me an electrician which tried for one hour to fix it ,putting different objects in the card system ,like paper. Finally they fixed it (look the photo to find the way-they put a carton). The next morning we go for our breakfast at 9:00 am and it was very poor. So we realized that we had to leave this horrible hotel as soon as possible. Thank god we made our reservation by international agency and we could take the money for the rest 3 nights back.You should think twice if you want to book in this hotel. This place has nothing to do with a 4star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agios Ioannis hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed May 2012-warm and friendly greeting. A bit basic but really nice breakfast on the outside terrace overlooking the beach. had hoped for coffeee aftyer arriving back bout 1030 pm but unfortunately not avaialble.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12SLAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The staff was helpful. Rooms were small (could only accomodate 2 people, so a family of 4 needed 2 rooms) and old fashioned but clean. It had an elevator for ease of moving suitcases. The hotel also had a swimming pool, and free wi-fi in the lobby and on the pool deck only. Hotel is situated on a very nice beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is very good. It has nice (but small) and clean rooms overlooking the beach, so obviously, a beautiful unobstructed view.
The owner is very nice and helpful to find a place to park. His daughter in law, who spends the whole summer in the hotel, is American, very kind and professional.
Breakfast is OK (tasty Greek yoghurt, honey, fantastic bread as often in Greece,good coffee...) and can be enjoyed on the outside terrace in front of the sea.
Across the quiet road, access to the beautiful beach where sunbeds and umbrellas can be rented.
This place's worth its price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montmartre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Awful rooms! The beds are not comfortable at all.No space in the room.It is difficult even if you want to go from the bathroom to the balcony.The colours, the old, cheap furnitures and the few lights gives you a very depressing mood. Bad maintained bathroom. No soundproofing. There was a lot of noise from the road in front of the hotel and from the music of the bar, next the reception, and the people who staid late at night talking and laughing there.
Bad service! The breakfast was at least unacceptable! Very expensive for nothing!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis
0.0 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#2 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manthos Blue Hotel
Manthos Blue Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diplomats' Holidays
Diplomats' Holidays
#2 of 2 in Chorto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amanita
Amanita
#1 of 6 in Tsagkarada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leda Village Resort
Leda Village Resort
#1 of 2 in Chorto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofokles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofokles Hotel

Property: Sofokles Hotel
Address: Agios Ioannis 37012, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Agios Ioannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sofokles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofokles Hotel is a charming seafront hotel in Agios Ioannis.Sofokles is ideal for both family holiday and romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofokles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing