We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I highly recommend this hotel.”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We were here for our sons wedding and found the accommodations to be great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 07LizzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    65
    10
    10
    0
See reviews for
102
29
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I don't want to go on and on, but suffice it to say that I stay at Country Inn and Suites *at least* every six weeks or so. Frankly, I've stayed there since they opened. I've also stayed at the other hotels all over town - except the Baymont, which is too far out of the way for all the back and forth I need to do. Truthfully, though, I'd never see the need to stay anywhere else.

Michelle and Kay, the managers there, and all the rest of the staff are soooo accommodating that it is like a second home at this point. If there's an issue (which there seldom is) they are right on it.

They have - yet again - remodeled the entire hotel and they did a fabulous job. Towels are now nice and cushy, beds are comfy, rooms are spacious, and they have gotten environmentally friendly in their breakfast room so there is no eating off of paper, plastic, or Styrofoam plates - and I get to drink my coffee out of a real mug! And the breakfast staff is so friendly they practically wait on your tables.

I just can't say enough about my stay there. Kudos to Country Inn and Suites in Freeport for being on my "fave" list of places to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lokeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX, Elkhart Lake WI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed one night for a friends wedding. I had dependable Country Inns & Suites performance. Clean room, friendly staff. Good neighborhood. Very quiet. I requested a 2nd floor room, which was easily accomodated. The AC worked very well and I had good temperature control even though it was 93F outside.

My only negative was that both queen beds show "body indentations" when made up. I know this is to be expected as matresses age a bit, but it's a pet peave of mine. The bed was comfortable and sleep quality was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXFROMWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Nice location and incredibly clean! Parking lots aren't connected but easy to find off highway. Beautiful lobby too.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A2Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I chose the Country Inn & Suites first due to convenient location (easy access from BUS-20 heading east into Freeport), and second based on the previous TripAdvisor ratings I found. Overall I was very satisfied with the hotel and value.

I booked online and had a 2-double bed room reserved. Upon arriving I asked if we could get a room with 1 king bed instead, and we were obliged with a nice-sized room with a king bed. The room smelled a little smoky upon entering (even though the hotel is fully non-smoking) but after airing it out a little it was fine (and I am pretty sensitive to smoke).

The bed was comfortable, and no noise from other rooms/guests although we didn't stay in the room long aside from sleeping. The room was very clean. Water pressure for shower was good. Mini-fridge was available in-room. Free internet speed was average.

I didn't have the breakfast but it looked good, and the food was in one area while you could sit in a separate, spacious room. The lobby was tastefully decorated, with a fireplace going. The indoor pool and hot tub looked inviting.

The parking lot was full when we arrived late at night and had to "make" a parking space. Not sure where else we could have parked. However the manager had said they were very busy due to it being a holiday weekend so my guess is that it's not usually that full.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dealswithpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Stayed two nights on business travel and paid $67/night. This hotel gets five stars all the way as it's clean, comfortable, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is tasty (love those make your own waffles!). You can't beat the place for the price, too bad it's in Freeport as that town offers a whole lot of nothing. The only negative I can think of is that the fitness center stinks, so you won't able to workout to any great degree here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Friendly, courteous staff. Inviting atmosphere. Clean & comfortable accommodations. Perfect location to local fair. Continental breakfast was a great surprise. After being affected by flood our family sought refuge at Country Inn and Suites and couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Freeport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport
Hampton Inn Freeport
#1 of 7 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Freeport
Super 8 Freeport
#4 of 7 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
19.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
22.6 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport
Address: 1710 S Dirck Dr, Freeport, IL 61032-6747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Freeport
Freeport Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing