We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton INN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Freeport
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hampton INN”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Surprising to find a Hampton Inn in a smaller town, especially downtown, that is in such great shape and staffed with excellent people. We were off our normal travel plan, but will revise our future trips to take advantage of it. Also, the Imperial Palace has some of the best Chinese food we've ever tasted!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JJW604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    84
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
111
63
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a family visit to Freeport, the hotel was well managed with excellent customer service. The team did everything possible to accommodate our needs even giving over a portion of the dinning area for an impromptu birthday celebration!. The rooms themselves are spacious and a little careworn but very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnott1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkeye, IA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Every time my wife and I travel to Freeport, we stay at this hotel. It is undoubtedly the best hotel in town. The front desk staff is always very nice and check you in quickly. You generally get 2 keys and are up in your room within minute. I noticed that there always seems to be 1 elevator that automatically goes back down to the lobby floor whenever you are done using it. So, you never have to wait for an elevator when on the lobby level - there is always one there. You'd think this would slow down the elevator response time for the other floors, but I've never waited more than a minute or two for an elevator. They are safe and clean.

The rooms are always very clean and smell good. They come with a flat screen TV, fridge, ironing board/iron, and a big closet. The bathrooms are nice and roomy. The showers always have enough hot water to go around and always have good pressure. The room's heating/cooling was pretty nice. It had a wall thermostat (like in a regular house), where you could control the room's temp via a number instead of a fan speed (which you can also change if you want). We set the temp to about 70 degrees the entire time and it stayed at that temp without intervention. The room also has a desk with a light. The wifi was good (and free!). You can have up to 3 devices connected per day - which is more than enough. The wifi was fast and I had no random disconnections. One neat little detail I'd like to point out is the bed lights. Each side of the bed has a nightstand and a light. The light has 3 or 4 standard power outlets on it for charging devices. However, the really cool part is that the lights also have USB power slots on them to charge phones and such. This was a really great addition because everyone has cell phones nowadays and it is great to have a lighting system catered to those devices. I've never seen that at any other hotel I've stayed at. Each floor has an ice machine and a vending area with pop machines.

The cleaning crew is AMAZING. Even though we always put up the "do not disturb" sign, the cleaning crew left us some towels and such in a small basket right outside of our door - just in case. Preemptively knowing my needs is a rare skill for hotels. Hats off to the cleaning crew!

The breakfast is free and has a big variety. They not only have the "normal" breakfast stuff that most hotels have (cereal, milk, juices, oatmeal, waffles, muffins, etc.), but they also have two hot items as well. We stayed there two nights and the first morning they had omelets and sausage patties, and the second they had this amazing mix of cheese, scrambled eggs, and ham. The breakfast room was always clean and fully stocked. There is always plenty of room to sit.

There is a small bistro/bar connected to the hotel. It has great drinks and their food is pretty good. The staff is always very friendly and will go above and beyond to get you what you want/need. The food is a bit on the pricy side, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it.

There is a pool downstairs that I did not employ. There is ample seating the it is generally about 3 feet deep - which is great for kids. The hotel recently renovated their fitness center. It has a good number of new machines and plenty of space. They have a TV system down there so that people can watch TV while working out. It is kept pretty cool and is a nice place to burn off stress.

Checkout is at noon. The process to check out is pretty standard. Early in the morning they slip the receipt under your door. You can leave the door keys/cards on the desk, and walk out (if no charges were made that need to be taken care of). Overall, the room was great. The staff was great. The food was great. When/if I go back to Freeport, I'll be staying there again. I recommend this hotel to anyone needing an affordable place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The higher the room - the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In a city with very few choices of hotels, this is the best place to stay. Breakfast is free, Wifi too, the gym is pretty good, there is a swimming pool and the hotel had a manager's special on Wednesday. The hotel is in the middle of 'downtown' in a rather depressed city with a lot of empty buildings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel and staff were great, loved having the ability to order from the bistro and have it delivered to my room. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. As someone with a bad back, it was a great night sleep. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great name brand hotel in the heart of Freeport, IL. Easy access to major highways. Clean, large quiet rooms, onsite tasty, reasonably priced restaurant. Full breakfast, with 24 hr coffee/tea. Staff very helpful. Great value for the price. Downtown has some great restaurants. CLOSE to FHN Memorial Hospital.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed in this Hampton Inn many times. It is the best hotel in town! The crew are always courteous and helpful. It is perhaps one of the best Hamptons that I have stayed at in the country! From the time of your welcome to the time of your departure you feel part of the family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A8550LIdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Freeport
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Freeport
Super 8 Freeport
#5 of 7 in Freeport
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
23.2 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
114 reviews
21.5 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Freeport

Property: Hampton Inn Freeport
Address: 109 S Galena Ave, Freeport, IL 61032-4310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hampton Inn Freeport, IL hotel, a historic property located off US 20 East, perfectly situated within walking distance of Lincoln-Douglas Debate Square. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing