We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rampside
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel last weekend (14th March). It is in a lovely spot with spectular views across Morecambe Bay, and when it is clear you can even see Blackpool.......
The room was lovely - nicely decorated, spacious, clean (ask for sea view rooms). The staff were lovely too and nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal was lovely and plenty of it. The ONLY let down for me was the breakfast - it could have been hotter. The second morning I had scrambled egg and even that wasn't a good as it looked. That aside I would recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elloundabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    49
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
85
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for the weekend to celebrate husbands birthday. The hotel is spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. The interior of the hotel was attractive( it is in keeping with the age of the building)and welcoming and staffed by a team of very helpful, friendly and efficient people.
We upgraded to a front room overlooking the bay. Our room was a good size with all the extras one would expect.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and were impressed with the menu and quality of the food. Our meals were delicious. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.
It is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Lake district as most places are only a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was the second time we had visited this hotel and the stay equalled the great experience we enjoyed the first time. The evening meals are second to none - both quality and quantity. The breakfasts were lovely, the hotel is very pleasant and it is in a beautiful quiet setting a short drive out of Barrow in furness. All the staff were all very helpful, friendly and pleasant and a credit to the hotel especially the young girl Karen on reception. We will be back!

Room Tip: seaview rooms well worth the upgrade, beautiful views over the whole of Morecambe bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muppet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We bought a voucher for Clarkes on TopTownDeals and had it not been for that I don't think we would have ever stumbled into Rampside!

The staff are amazingly friendly and very helpful, the lady who was on front of house when we checked in was extremely polite and very accomodating.

The room was well propprtioned, decorated very tastefully if slightly dated but that just added to the feel of the place. We had a little table by the radiator which offered lovely views of the very bleak yet somehow stunning coastline. Tea and coffee making equipment was provided as was a wifi code and a nice little telly, plenty of spare pillows in the wardrobe which is always nice. The only small criticism we had regarding the room was that it was a little chilly (perfect for me but not my fiance) even with the radiator all the way up! We stayed in room 11 and I don't know if it is the case with all rooms but there is no need to turn the cold tap on whilst showering - the water isn't very hot but the power of the shower was suprisingly good.

The food was very tasty and very well priced, we ate from the Christmas special menu and had two courses for £14. The portion sizes were wonderful and the meat was from a proper joint not the disgusting microwave packs you normally find in pubs. Breakfast was a good selection of cereals and youghurts with a full english cooked how you like - hats of to the chef, perfect poached egg!

All in all our stay including food came to £78 (voucher was better than 1/2 price but we had to pay a £10 room upgrade charge). Not sure I would pay full price to stay again but if there is an offer on over the summer would definately go again.

As a side note unless you are a fan of walking there is nothing to do in the immediate area, however Ulverston is less than 25 minutes away and Dalton Zoo about 20. If we make it back when the weather is better and the ferry is running we may have to venture over to Peil Island - the castle looked quite spectacular even in December.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was very quiet - front of the building has beautiful sea views, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Arrived eventually at the Hotel,very out in the wilds kind of place.nothing there to do.OK a lifeboat station which was built with our contributions was actually a quite nice Pier if we could have just walked along it but as with everything else in this funny little place it was shut.hotel was opposite the weird beach!mostly grass..looking over to Morecombe..We booked this as a special deal and were treated accordingly..the room they gave us was "tiny"and facing out to what appeared to be a new Council Estate.very poor as there we no other guests at the time staying there,UNLESS all the rooms were this tiny.and SO COLD its been a long time since we had to use a "Hair Dryer" to keep the room WARM!I Think it was LLANDUDNO 1989..LOL.Most staff were absolutely great and the food was tremendous.highly reccomend the food here.but really ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO....You really have to Eat in the hotel as there is absolutely NOWHERE ELSE TO GO!you could drive into Barrow in Furness but to be honest that is just like a gigantic Industrial Estate with McDonalds and Pizza Huts etc..This town is NOT MORECOMBE AND CERTAINLY NOT THE LAKES!!!

Room Tip: If going out of season insist on a room on the lower floors,it was much warmer down there,if you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raymmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have just returned to Scotland after a wonderful 2nt stay at The Clarke's Hotel. We could not praise the hotel and staff high enough for all their hard work. The whole experience was a joy. Accomodating and friendly staff, wonderful cosy atmosphere, helpful information from staff, clean and well presented bar, as well as hotel room. And last but by no means least...........AMAZING food, minted lamb and salmon are to die for!!! We also were unable to arrive till late due to commitments so therefore did not arrive until 8.45pm, however staff were so accomodating and were able to serve us dinner at 9pm.

Can't thank the hotel enough for a wonderful stay.

Thank you xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We went to this hotel with a special deal, we upgraded to a sea view and we were glad we did. Nice room, good size, quiet. Bar has a nice atmosphere, only thing we were not keen on was the television on all the time but that is a personal preference. Ate both nights, food was good. Breakfast good, plenty of it and usual choices. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANICE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rampside
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
498 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
339 reviews
3.9 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
59 reviews
23.2 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
18.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie

Property: Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie
Address: Rampside, Rampside LA13 0PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Rampside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rampside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarke`s Hotel And Brasserie
Clarkes Hotel Brasserie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing