We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very British”
Review of Clarke's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarke's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rampside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed early April the weather was cold but sunny. The hotel was warm and very comfortable.best descibed as a traditional British country hotel. Sea view room is a must
If you want a view.Could be quite expensive without a voucher. Ate both nights in the dining room. Really good food and not expensive.Wine was quite dear,but then we did drink four bottles.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillParrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Clarke's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here on the weekend 5th April 2013 on booking we ask for a bedroom on the 1st Floor but when we arrived we was told that the only room available was on the top floor we are aged 79 and 81. The room had the smallest bed we have had to sleep in and have been married well over 50 years. When we complained we were told that the room was a small double. It should have been described as a large SINGLE. The food was poor and over priced no one seemed to be interested in there jobs.Overall a complete waste of money and a weekend.
Sheila & Derek

Room Tip: Always find full details about the room before booking.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryan m, Manager at Clarke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to say however we do only allocate certain rooms to the voucher companies and if you would like an upgraded room with king size beds and views across morcambe bay these are available to our customers.

Thank you
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary after buying a voucher from wowcher . The hotel is beautiful and nice and clean the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very tasty and not over priced we had a sea view and was it worth paying the £10 upgrade. The only downside was the heating was off during the day so the room was a little chilly but nothing to cold and the Wi Fi was poor in the room the connection was hit and miss and very slow but worked fine in the bar. Would recommend a stay and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Ideally situated, lovely clean hotel with really friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely views across the bay.

Thank Elloundabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel last weekend (14th March). It is in a lovely spot with spectular views across Morecambe Bay, and when it is clear you can even see Blackpool.......
The room was lovely - nicely decorated, spacious, clean (ask for sea view rooms). The staff were lovely too and nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal was lovely and plenty of it. The ONLY let down for me was the breakfast - it could have been hotter. The second morning I had scrambled egg and even that wasn't a good as it looked. That aside I would recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elloundabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for the weekend to celebrate husbands birthday. The hotel is spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. The interior of the hotel was attractive( it is in keeping with the age of the building)and welcoming and staffed by a team of very helpful, friendly and efficient people.
We upgraded to a front room overlooking the bay. Our room was a good size with all the extras one would expect.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and were impressed with the menu and quality of the food. Our meals were delicious. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.
It is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Lake district as most places are only a short drive away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was the second time we had visited this hotel and the stay equalled the great experience we enjoyed the first time. The evening meals are second to none - both quality and quantity. The breakfasts were lovely, the hotel is very pleasant and it is in a beautiful quiet setting a short drive out of Barrow in furness. All the staff were all very helpful, friendly and pleasant and a credit to the hotel especially the young girl Karen on reception. We will be back!

Room Tip: seaview rooms well worth the upgrade, beautiful views over the whole of Morecambe bay
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muppet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rampside
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
360 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
426 reviews
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarke's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarke's Hotel

Address: Rampside | Barrow-in-Furness, Rampside LA13 0PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Rampside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rampside
Price Range: £74 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarke's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant, Very traditional, homely and run in a relaxing manor. We serve a wide verity of foods that enable us to suit most people, with well stocked bar and good selection of wines. Most of our King sized rooms over look Morecambe Bay and we are only 20 minutes drive from the Lake district, which is a world heritage site. We are also well placed for visit to the South Lakes Animal park. Haverthwaite Steam railway, which links to the Boats on Windermere. For those Business customers that are looking for some where to relax after their meeting in the Furness area we are the ideal place with the right combination of friendliness and service that ensures you have what you need when you need it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Clarke's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarke`s Hotel And Brasserie
Clarkes Hotel Brasserie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing