We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, fantastic views across Morecambe Bay.”
Review of The Clarke's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarke's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rampside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

what a delightful break this was we had not booked we just got in the car and found this great hotel. We had a room with a great view of the bay could see Blackpool tower in the distance. The staff where very friendly and helpful, the food was very good and could no, we where there for a long weekend and met some lovely people staff and guests.

Room Tip: try for a sea view it is beautiful. You do need a car but go north and you have the lakes and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Was recommended to the Clarke's about 30 years ago and finally got round to going with my wife for our anniversary. Was very favourably impressed. Well appointed room, friendly and competent staff and excellent food, what more could one want? Nothing if you are content with its secluded location.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth paying for although the sea is usually out of sight without binoculars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliecreweCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

what a delight to stay in such a lovely place . staff friendly , clean rooms,the view looking over the sea was just lovely . breakfast was lovely. the only thing missing i felt was that you didn't meet the owners as it would be nice to thank them personally, but that is just a small thing really. you will need a car if you like to see the towns close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breezababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I booked this short break through an Amazon deal. The hotel is pleasantly located looking south across Morecambe Bay and is convenient for the Lake District. We were offered an upgrade to a room with a sea view which gave us a nice aspect over the bay with views across to Heysham and even Blackpool, although this was easier to pick out at night due to the lights from the tower.

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly if a little overworked. The food was good if unspectacular and all in all made for a very nice weekend break.

The surrounding countryside is somewhat bleak (Barrow) but if you venture passed Ulverston and into the Lakes themselves becomes beautiful.

I am glad we went in nice weather as a poor weekend, not unheard of in the Lakes, would have spoiled things as the hotel was only small and no additional facilities over its bar and restaurant.

The odd shaped Rampside Lighthouse sits across the road from the hotel and looks now out of place and if you can ignore the Heysham Power Station on the horizon you will be a better man than me. Head north when exploring has to be the general advice.

When in Ulverston you should also walk up to the “Pepper Pot”. You will soon see what I mean.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoonerDave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a weekend at Clarke's hotel through an Amazon deal. The hotel can be found quite easily via Sat Nav and the drive to the hotel (coming from the north) is lovely. Coastal road with beaches and lighthouses all the way, along with plenty of places to stop if you choose to.

When calling to book our room, we were told there were only upgraded rooms available on the dates we wanted. This was an extra £20 and gives you a bigger room and a sea-front view (see picture). Upon arrival the staff were friendly and showed us to our room. The room was large and clean with a really comfortable bed and as promised, sea views.

The deal we had booked specified a three course dinner on the night of arrival but, given the time we arrived, the hotel were happy to swap this for a second night. They also told us that it was too late to order from the bar snacks menu but spoke to the chef and again accomodated this.

The restuarant area is nice and the food lovely and well presented. I couldn't fault the staff at all. All very friendly and happy to offer advice on the area. The bar was open 24 hours a day and was quiet late at night, even on a Friday and Saturday.

The only slight (and I admit very slight) negative point I would make is that the seats in our room were a bit worn and could have been doing with being replaced but it's barely worth mentioning.

I would also recommend taking a walk (or short drive) along the road to get the "ferry" (it can hold about 10 people. Literally) to Piel Island. A lovely little place with a 14th century castle.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel. Staff, food and room were all great. Will hopefully visit again sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zak83c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Location affords good views across Morecambe Bay with Rampside Lighthouse in the foreground. The restaurant has a unique style of decor which provides a relaxing ambience in which to enjoy the delights of the many options on the menu. The food is excellent and the service efficient yet unobtrusive. A must for locals and visitors alike.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Lovely hotel ,stayed here numerous times, very friendly staff, rooms very nice and clean with plenty of coffee/tea making facilities. Food in restaurant excellent and the breakfast is well worth having. Hotel in a lovely location but you need a car to get there

Room Tip: Pay small supplement and get a front room with superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rampside
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
526 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
171 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
472 reviews
0 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarke's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarke's Hotel

Address: Rampside | Barrow-in-Furness, Rampside LA13 0PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Rampside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rampside
Price Range: £59 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarke's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant, Very traditional, homely and run in a relaxing manor. We serve a wide verity of foods that enable us to suit most people, with well stocked bar and good selection of wines. Most of our King sized rooms over look Morecambe Bay and we are only 20 minutes drive from the Lake district, which is a world heritage site. We are also well placed for visit to the South Lakes Animal park. Haverthwaite Steam railway, which links to the Boats on Windermere. For those Business customers that are looking for some where to relax after their meeting in the Furness area we are the ideal place with the right combination of friendliness and service that ensures you have what you need when you need it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Clarke's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarke`s Hotel And Brasserie
Clarkes Hotel Brasserie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing