We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab restaurant, good service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Heart

The White Heart
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Penistone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Fab restaurant, good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch at 4.30 with 6 of us. Impressive selection of food, all very tasty. For starters had pigeon with black pudding, chicken parfait, and picnic scotch egg. For mains had a combination of stuffed chicken, lamb shanks and duck breast. It was all delicious, particularly the lamb. Would definitely recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    27
    17
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really good environment & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went here for the first time with a group of friends last weekend. The bar area is nice & modern with lots of room to move around. It does get busy as it doubles as a pub, but it creates a really nice atmosphere. We ewe there on a Saturday night so there was live music on as well, but it was easy listening stuff & not so loud that you couldn't talk comfortably. The restaurant is spacious and well set out with the lighting just right. The food was really nice & well priced & the service was nice & friendly too. All in all not sure why we have never been here before, but wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Really nice food ... Lovely cosy atmosphere ... Full of comfy seating .. Had bar food and restaurant both excellent and the best Christmas party meal I've ever had .. Staff very friendly... Seen the function room dressed for a wedding and it looked stunning

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cayenne1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not much choice and cold veg”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Went for a special birthday on a Saturday night very limited menu, Staff were pleasant but when I told them my veg was cold they didn't give any explanation only offer to replace veg although by this time I had eaten most of my meat so I didn't accept them. All veg were pilled on top of each other in a dish not very good presentation . Paid good money for a poor meal will not be visiting again and would advise others to spend their money elsewhere .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenpurestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Went for a bar meal lunch, and really impressed with the quality of food, service and surroundings. Lovely place, nice uncomplicated but varied menu, and great friendly & professional service. Really surprised it was so quiet (hence marked down a bit on atmosphere) although just after New Year must be a quiet time for most places, I suppose. Pay them a visit for a lovely lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julesbar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Heart also viewed

Penistone, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The White Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing