We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Galena Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Galena, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy R
1 review
“Galena Getaway”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Derinda B&B was absolutely "what the doctor ordered."...better than a hotel. Food was great, accommodations outstanding. We'll be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you for coming,always glad when guests enjoy there stay.
Hope to see you again . Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
1 review
“Incredible food”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

our stay was perfect. Sandy truly thinks of every detail! Stocked fireplace, s’mores fixings, coffee and tea and bathrobes in the closet.
But the most amazing part of your stay is the breakfasts she provides. Amazing and the table was set to perfection.
The bedding is super comfortable as well!
We highly reccomend a stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Thank you so much ,I really enjoyed visiting with you , I plan on doing many improvements this summer ,so come back and check it out.
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachiomi
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Cozy and elegant”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a lovely home we spent time in for a small family holiday gathering for two days. The furniture was comfortable, clean and elegant. The dishes, furniture and decor had an old world English/Scottish/Irish feel. We enjoyed lighting a fire while it snowed outside. The house had tasteful Christmas decorations up for the season. Our hostess, Sandra, had the fireplace set up for us and also provided additional logs, a starter kit as well as s’mores supplies. It was great being able to relax and watch movies on the smart t.v. In the living room and make cocoa in the kitchen.

Our stay felt very thoughtful. We had access to our own full kitchen and the privacy of our own floor but our hosts were accessible for any additional needs on another floor. Sandra made us two delicious breakfasts. We especially loved the crepes. There are actually three bedrooms and two bathrooms on the guest level. The beds had a nice array of blankets and we had control of the thermostat. The house seemed well-insulated because we stayed comfortable and warm. The parking could not be better-they have a circular drive and let you park right in front for easy loading and unloading.

The location is 15-20 minutes outside of Galena.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Wow ! thanks for that lovely review . I am happy you enjoyed your stay,
that makes it all worth while. Hope to see you again.
I really appreciate It. Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz F
1 review
“Awesome B&B”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great place to stay for couples or family! Sandra is a great chef so have her cook you dinner as well...well worth it! We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2017
Thank you all for the great review . I would love to have you back.
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jw2016104
Verona, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Galena b&b”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wonderfully relaxing and comfortable home in which to stay. Breakfasts were excellent. Hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you for coming,I really enjoyed talking with you . Look forward to seeing you again.
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A serene weekend getaway”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location was peaceful, with a beautiful deck overlooking a well-tended back yard. The breakfasts were top notch. I recommend getting the optional supper provided as well; she really is an excellent cook! The hostess was very helpful, orienting us to the surrounding area. The drive from the bed and breakfast to Galena was scenic and took about 15 minutes. It was just the two of us this time, but we will bring some friends next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for such lovely review,I am always happy when the guests have a good time. Enjoying the breakfast is a big part of the stay.
We hope to see you again,
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brendavol...
Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Derinda House Bed and Breakfast was incredible. We were only 12 miles from Old Town Galena that we visited during the days while site seeing as well. The Trolly ride was very informative as we toured the town. While back at the B&B we enjoyed relaxing out on the deck as it was inviting with a patio table and furniture so we could take in all the amazing views and listen to the frogs and all the other nature as well. Sandra also equipped us with wood for a fire and the ingredients for s'mores as well. Sandra was a great host and her breakfasts were amazing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for the compliments ,So glad you enjoyed your visit.
We hope to see you again.
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing