We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$80
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worldmark Galena(Galena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
16
2
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
2
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My significant other and I needed a quiet weekend away. This was our first B & B experience, and we loved it! We both agreed that we would return to the Ryan Mansion again.

Upon arriving, we were greeted by the innkeepers' daughters, Olivia (in full costume). She gave us a tour of the house and made us feel very comfortable. The house is beautiful and they've done a wonderful job of keeping it historically accurate. There are, of course, modern things within the house, but they managed to keep them hidden under lace doilies and curtains. We stayed in Katie's Room, which was small but certainly adequate. This is the only room without an actual shower, so we made do with the tub, but we were aware of this when booking. Most of the rooms are on the front of the house, which unfortunately faces a highway. The traffic noise is audible, but our room was on the rear of the house so we never noticed it. Breakfast was served promptly at 9:00am and was delicious both days (egg/sausage/cheese/cranberry strata with fruit and the best blueberry scones on Saturday, pumpkin bread pudding with sausage and fruit on Sunday). Coffee was available no later than 8:00am on a cart in the hallway. As others have noted, there are tours during the day. Since we were not there during the day, they didn't pose any imposition on us. Olivia assured us that they did not show occupied rooms, but we actually tucked our stuff away so they could include it in the tour.

Cons: Location (on a highway in a commercial area, not walking distance to downtown...but still less than a 3 minute drive!)

Pros: EVERYTHING ELSE!

Room Tip: Rooms on back side of house (Katie's and the cottage) are quieter. All are wonderful!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Wendy, Bill and Olivia made us feel like members of the family when we stayed at the Ryan Mansion. We felt as though we travelled backwards in time 135 years. What a delightful experience! We can't wait to stay there again. Hopefully, soon! The breakfast was delicious and Minnie's room was charming and comfortable with incredible attention to detail.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bubblebathqueen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This B & B is also open for tours starting at 10am. It's a beautiful house but the main focus seems to be on the tours and not on the B&B part, so I would recommend finding another inn closer to downtown galena and just driving to see this one for a tour.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShadowKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We had never stayed at a B&B before and had no idea what to expect.We stayed in the garden cottage which was charming.Super romantic.Fireplace,whirlpool,private deck,very Victorian style.Many good spirits at this property. It has a wonderful pond and many large trees.Mansion tour was very interesting,and i loved all the victorian decor.Our hostess made the best coffee in the morning and served it on a silver coffee service in the main mansion.Then a delicious!!!french toast and sausage breakfast. We will definately return here.It was beautiful,relaxing,happy,shiny, and made the BEST honeymoon!Thank you!!
christa and roger

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orca20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We had never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast like this, and we loved the historic quality and charm of The Ryan Mansion! We stayed in the Ryan Suite, which had a very comfortable, romantic looking bed. There was a whirlpool tub in the room as well, between the bedroom section and the separate sitting room. It was nice to have two separate sections. We were very happy with our room. The only drawback could be that the windows in the bedroom look onto a hall/walkway that leads to other rooms. It had thick, lace curtains that you could not really see through, and there were no guests staying in that section of the house, but if there were it may have seemed a little less private. The fireplaces are not in use, so if you are looking to use them, it's not an option. We didn't get to see all of the rooms because 2 of them were already occupied, but some of them are really small. If you're not planning to spend much time in the room, they would be just fine. The Ryan Suite was plenty spacious for us, however.

The house itself was decorated for Christmas, and it was such a warm, richly decorated space. It felt like you were going back in time! The owners are very passionate about the history and that time period, so I feel we got an authentic experience. Upon checking in, we got a tour of the house. The breakfast is served at 9:00 sharp (a meal was even made to accommodate my dietary restrictions) and it was delicious! We sat with 2 other couples everyone seemed really happy with the food. Just make sure you get to breakfast at nine, because the food will be waiting for you if you are not! The location isn't too far from Downtown Galena, but since the original owner of the house owned quite a bit of land, there are no other historic homes in the area. From downtown you have to drive past some non-historic places (like Walmart, McDonalds, and Piggly Wiggly), but I suppose it is nice to have close access to a store for any quick purchases. So you're not nestled in a historic area since you are actually sandwiched between 2 hotels and a gas station.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and it certainly was more memorable than any hotel stay we've ever had! We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews