We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, however horrible staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Rooms were awesome! Very clean! Many updates to resort since our trip in 2008.we had two watches go missing from our tv stand while we were out skiing the second day we were there and staff made no effort to locate missing items. Manager, Erin very rude to customers when questioned about packages! Not professional at all. We had been to this resort previously and loved everything about this resort including staff members, however this time staff was rude and did not make our stay very enjoyable. I will say Pat B on the lower ski lift was the best staff member they had! He was always having a good time and even thanked us for visiting Chestnut Mountain! Linda at front desk was very helpful also. Bartenders very rude and didn't even acknowledge you when you spoke to them. The snow was low the days we were there and you could actually see the bare ground in some places, however they did start up the snow guns the last night we were there. Overall, not really satisfied with our second trip to this resort. May have to start looking for a different resort to visit in future.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorenHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

I've read the other reviews and some have merit, but you have to remember that this is a ski lodge and wear and tear are going to be a given. When you go ask for a room that faces the Mississippi and that has been recently remodeled. The hotel is situated on a hill and is surrounded by mature trees. You can see the river and can even walk down to it. The personnel was very friendly and accommodating. This has been our 8th stay. We have gone alone and with the kids. The Alpine Slide is great fun for them and they loved riding back up the hill on the chair lift. They have a room with video games and a huge indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. They also have a very modest (as compared to the ones in the Dells and other tourist attractions) mini-golf course that is complimentary. It's just one more thing for the kids to do. Dining options are limited but what they have is good. All restaurants offer the view, but if you go at night, you can't see much. We usually go on the weekend of the Country Fair, but this year went later in the season. We had the place to ourselves and it was great. They are pet friendly, but be advised, that the "pet" rooms are pretty bare bones and old fashioned. It makes sense, but if you take your dog/dogs beware that the trade off will be an older room. We had no fridge/no coffee, though continental breakfast and coffee was served in the dining room and was complimentary. Good news for pet lovers, they charge no extra for pets. We took our 2 collies with us. They missed home. Wish we had gone without them. Takes snacks and pop, they used to have a gift shop with treats, but they expanded the restaurant and it is gone. The vending machines are just too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room and one that faces the Mississippi. The nicer rooms we have stayed in are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Our room was very outdated and worn to the point that we were uncomfortable. However the common areas were nice and the views were outstanding. It is located quite a distance from Galena, which was unfortunate. Although we had a nice time with our friends, and the kids loved some of the amenities, we wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is way outdated and the staff is far from knowledgeable about any of the supposed amenities. Needs a massive overhaul and better training. The restaurant was decent however and the waitstaff decent enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We have been there 3 or 4 times and have always had a large room overlooking the slide and river. We had a second floor room and the view was spectacular! I liked the two seperate sinks one in the full bath and one outside of it. No coffee in the room, but it was in the lobby from 6 - 10 am. Older hotel, but comfortable and cozy. The price of the room included a $24.00 breakfast ($12.00ea.) Dinner in the Summit Room was excellent!! We go back every time we are in Galena.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms overlooking the slide and river have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newme-at63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've been going to Galena for maybe ten years, and I was delighted to find Chestnut Mountain Resort about six years ago. I stay there four or five times a year, whenever I go to Galena. It's not your modern, sterile Ramada or chain hotel. It is older, true, and no elevator, but the rooms are large and comfortable, with a sofa, chair, mini-fridge. I always tell them they need to put coffeemakers in the rooms. It just feels homey to me. The restaurants are excellent; I've had probably thirty meals there and have never been disappointed. But the most wonderful thing about it is the view of the Mississippi River from the restaurants and many rooms. Situated on a ski hill, you can see across the Miss to Iowa. Some times, you can see eagles flying over he river. It's one of my favorite views in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a River view, on the same side as the lobby. Those rooms are bigger and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Lots of steps & no elevator. We came up here as a family group for the weekend. This is an older property that has had some remodeling done & still needs lots more. It would probably be a good idea when you make the reservation to ask for a room with a river view & a remodeled room. Ours happened to be one of the remodeled ones with a fridge & HD TV. The others were on the third floor & had a tube TV & did not have a fridge. All of us had a view of the parking lot.
The rooms are large with two queen beds, a sleeper sofa, table & chairs, full bathroom & also an extra sink & mirror outside the bathroom. The beds were comfortable & everything looked clean. We were surprised that the keys were the old metal kind with a room number tag. Be warned if you are a coffee drinker. There is no coffeemaker in the room & coffee in the lobby is only there from 6AM to 10AM.
We had the summer weekend package which I think was the last one for the year. We had a dinner & two brunches included in the package. The food was very good. We also had the Alpine Slide, Chair Lift & Miniature Golf (very old course) included,as well as a narrated trolley ride of Galena.There is also an indoor pool. Iron your clothes before you come...no ironing board. The toiletries are soap & shampoo.There is free WiFi.
The resort is eight miles from downtown Galena. Go into town for lots of interesting shops & restaurants & the area is lovely this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view & a remodedled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveMinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Mountain Resort

Address: 8700 Chestnut Dr, Galena, IL 61036-8787
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range: £72 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only in the Midwest will you find such an unexpected diamond in the rough. High above the Mississippi, tucked nicely in the hills near historic Galena, Chestnut Mountain is a premier Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chestnut Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Mountain Galena
Chestnut Mountain Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing