We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible rooms, Nice slopes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“horrible rooms, Nice slopes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Hotel is outdated and in need of a overhaul. The ski kill is nice but I am not a great skier. The hotel beds were small and very uncomfortable. I will never stay at the hotel again but will definitely go back for the skiing.

Room Tip: do not book a room. Until they update and remodel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    78
    43
    28
    27
See reviews for
89
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Mountain:

Can't speak highly enough about the ski hill! Just returned from a weekend at Chestnut Mountain Ski Resort. Blues at Chestnut Mountain are steeper & longer than all black runs at Alpine Valley! It's my new favorite ski hill in the Midwest! (Just over 500 ft of vert per my Ski Tracks iPhone App)

They have 3 black runs that are 24 - 45 degrees steep! Cascade Mountain's steepest slopes are at a respectable 20% grade.

At 2.5 hours away from both Milwaukee & Chicago with on-sight lodging, this is a MUST DO for every skier/boarder in our megopolis!!

Lodging / Amenities:

Onsite lodging is incredibly convenient for ski in / ski out experience. There is a mix of brand new amenities (ski shop & rental building) to very worn ready to tear down & start again lodging (rooms on south side of lodge nearest pool & appear not to have been touched since opening in 1959).

The edelweiss rooms on the north side of lodge were renovated 6+ years ago. They are large with two double beds, a sleeper sofa, circular dining table and large wall to wall windows.

Our room was clean. Bath was retrofit with a tub & shower liner. Counters were original or near original faux marble laminate. Television is a traditional tube set 25ish inch in size.

Although they provide several WiFi routers to choose from, connection is spotty at best and requires log in each time ur kicked off (very time consuming because of SLOW speed & over burdened infrastructure). Cell signal among our group of seven with multiple carriers was near non existent.

Food & Spirits:

Lower level Mountain Top Cafe is slope side & convenient to hill. It reminded us of college cafeteria dining. Simply sustaining as a fuel source & nothing more...

Skipped Sunset Grill for upscale options in historic downtown Galena.

Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and beverage selection / service at The Summit pub/bar.

Service:

Mixed with regards to sophistication but most were helpful & courteous. Ski School staff are recruited from around the Midwest. They are fantastic! The hotel staff are local, sincere (for most part...) but lacking an understanding of reasonable expectations of what good service entails... (Offer insights regarding lodge, amenities, map & at least pretend you want to be there if not enjoying ur job)

Views:

Topside view overlooking ski hill with Mississippi River with bluffs on opposite bank of river are gorgeous!!!

Summary:

Like everything in life, there is an abundance of fun and entertainment at this resort to have a great time! ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Double room clean but small, mattresses ok. No fridge, microwave. Tiny bathroom. Very convenient to hill, good restaurants available on site. Ski rental shop above average in being helpful and friendly - allowed us to wax in basement, and did emergency repairs on my daughters boot in a flash.

Ski hill had good variety, great service, excellent grooming and conditions to ski. Great view of the mighty Mississippi from the top. Not bad skiing for so far south.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRedKennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Rooms were awesome! Very clean! Many updates to resort since our trip in 2008.we had two watches go missing from our tv stand while we were out skiing the second day we were there and staff made no effort to locate missing items. Manager, Erin very rude to customers when questioned about packages! Not professional at all. We had been to this resort previously and loved everything about this resort including staff members, however this time staff was rude and did not make our stay very enjoyable. I will say Pat B on the lower ski lift was the best staff member they had! He was always having a good time and even thanked us for visiting Chestnut Mountain! Linda at front desk was very helpful also. Bartenders very rude and didn't even acknowledge you when you spoke to them. The snow was low the days we were there and you could actually see the bare ground in some places, however they did start up the snow guns the last night we were there. Overall, not really satisfied with our second trip to this resort. May have to start looking for a different resort to visit in future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I've read the other reviews and some have merit, but you have to remember that this is a ski lodge and wear and tear are going to be a given. When you go ask for a room that faces the Mississippi and that has been recently remodeled. The hotel is situated on a hill and is surrounded by mature trees. You can see the river and can even walk down to it. The personnel was very friendly and accommodating. This has been our 8th stay. We have gone alone and with the kids. The Alpine Slide is great fun for them and they loved riding back up the hill on the chair lift. They have a room with video games and a huge indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. They also have a very modest (as compared to the ones in the Dells and other tourist attractions) mini-golf course that is complimentary. It's just one more thing for the kids to do. Dining options are limited but what they have is good. All restaurants offer the view, but if you go at night, you can't see much. We usually go on the weekend of the Country Fair, but this year went later in the season. We had the place to ourselves and it was great. They are pet friendly, but be advised, that the "pet" rooms are pretty bare bones and old fashioned. It makes sense, but if you take your dog/dogs beware that the trade off will be an older room. We had no fridge/no coffee, though continental breakfast and coffee was served in the dining room and was complimentary. Good news for pet lovers, they charge no extra for pets. We took our 2 collies with us. They missed home. Wish we had gone without them. Takes snacks and pop, they used to have a gift shop with treats, but they expanded the restaurant and it is gone. The vending machines are just too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room and one that faces the Mississippi. The nicer rooms we have stayed in are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Our room was very outdated and worn to the point that we were uncomfortable. However the common areas were nice and the views were outstanding. It is located quite a distance from Galena, which was unfortunate. Although we had a nice time with our friends, and the kids loved some of the amenities, we wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is way outdated and the staff is far from knowledgeable about any of the supposed amenities. Needs a massive overhaul and better training. The restaurant was decent however and the waitstaff decent enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galena hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
7.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Mountain Resort

Property: Chestnut Mountain Resort
Address: 8700 W Chestnut Rd, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only in the Midwest will you find such an unexpected diamond in the rough. High above the Mississippi, tucked nicely in the hills near historic Galena, Chestnut Mountain is a premier Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chestnut Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Mountain Galena
Chestnut Mountain Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing