We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmers Guest House(Galena)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annie Wiggins Guest House(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldrich Guest House(Galena)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
62
96
51
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
96
51
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip linealpine slideski liftmississippi riverchair liftsoaring eaglesegway tourfun summerbreakfast buffetrooms are largefall colorsbeds were comfortablebeautiful areaoff the beaten pathpool and hot tublong weekendgirls weekend
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We joined some friends for a rally at this hotel. It is an older hotel, but clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, from front desk to restuarant to room staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food was really good and the view from the restuarant was amazing. Enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

To start with, this place advertises themselves as being located in Galena. In fact, they are 9 miles away, in Hanover, which is a completely different town, and being so misleading about their location just seems like a desperate attempt to attract people.
The hotel itself is extremely outdated. The carpets all around are smelly (we had to keep a window open in our room at all times), dusty, and stained.
The rooms are horrendous. We have stayed a long weekend there, and those three nights were rather uncomfortable. The double sized mattresses are old; the blankets and the top covers haven't been washed in a while. The only few things that were probably refreshed are the sheets and towels.
There's no fridge, coffee maker, no microwave, nor blow dryer in the room or anywhere around. The AC is ancient and squeaks.
So far, this place is on the list of the top worst that we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Longing for a break , we only had 2 days to spare! Other than spending it at a water park in a hotel, my wife and I , and my 2 teenage boys , opted for the almost 3 hour ride to chestnut mountain resort knowing full well they would be closing after Sunday ( the ski part)! In short, great skiing because they make their own snow and they have a variety of skill runs from beginner to advanced and including some snowboarding exclusive parks, the rooms not so hot, in need of some renovation and some refreshening especially the pool and sauna and game room area. The restaurants (3) are great and the service from front desk to ski rental are all excellent. Great day and a half and biggest plus is you are skiing off the Mississippi river valley and 8 minutes from town of galena with cool shops restaurants bars and scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryZFrankfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Okay, so the hotel is not four star, and the rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable.

The most impressive thing about this hotel is its staff who are wonderful and treat guests as if they are family. The skiing was good, and the lessons were great. The restaurants were both more than satisfactory.

I would recommend this resort for family vacations, especially if you have young children who are learning to ski.

The pool and jacuzzi were a nice way to end the day!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a slopeside room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay that was supposed to be a surprise birthday trip - and turned out to be a total disappoinment. We entered the reception area and were pleasantly surprised -there are two restaurants with great views of the slopes that seemed to have been recently remodeled. Had a very nice ski lodge feel. HOWEVER, when you exit the central area into the hotel portion of the resort, it's like a different building. The carpet is worn, the halls have a wet, musty smell. The rooms are horribly, horribly outdated. There were stains on the curtains, a discolored toilet, peeling wallpaper etc. For $159 a night, just for the room, we expected much better. If you want to ski and stay on the slopes, this is the only place to stay. It seemed like the resort knows they have your business, so they don't have to provide better quality rooms for the customers. We will not be returning for this reason. A shame, it could be a first-rate facility otherwise.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank llc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews