We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Weekend motorcycle trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is very clean. the staff are very helpful. it could use a little sprucing up. The TV in our room was old-school, bad reception, generic remote didn't work most of the time. No coffee maker in the room. No free breakfast. Very nice pool and hot tub. Alpine slide was fun. Fabulous view of the Mississippi River. Sunset Grille restaurant in the hotel was very pricey so we didn't eat in there. we did eat at the bar and it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nanadiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

15 - 20 minutes south of Galena (take Blackjack Rd. south from U.S. 20 on east side of downtown). We stayed at Eagle Ridge Resort and drove down to Chestnut Mtn for breakfast on our way to Mississippi Palisades Park then drive back home to Chicago suburbs. We were lucky with a beautiful sunny morning and the view of the Mississippi River and islands is spectacular. The food was decent, the restaurant is large and comfortable. and the service was fine. We ordered off the menu but for $9.95 there is a buffet that looked real good. We stayed overnight several years ago, and judging by some of the recent comments here I just read, it seems that the guest rooms still need some refurbishing, as they did then. But, the restaurants and bar have wonderful views and our brief restaurant visit gave us another great memory for our weekend getaway trip.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight this time, but would ask for a room with a view that might have had a fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IllinoisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Really needs an upgrade to this century. Horrible sleeping accommodations. Beds and sheets from the 1970s. More like dorms than resort amenities. Everything was kind of run down. Pricing should have been closer to motel pricing for the conditions. Might have been nice 30 years ago.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank IYehling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Even though many restaurants in our area were offering Easter Brunch this past Sunday, we chose a trip to Chestnut Mountain Resort. It was well worth the drive! The selections were just right, ham, omelets and the rest of the traditional brunch fare. Seated along the slope side windows it was the perfect place to view Spring time arriving on the bluffs of the Mississippi while enjoying our meal. It is very obvious that the chefs and staff take pride in their offerings as all were prepared perfectly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I went to chestnut mountain over the weekend with my family. Not to beat a dead horse, but the rooms are very outdated, and full of water damage/mold. I could go more into detail about what was done wrong but I would rather focus on a couple of things they could do to prove the experience.
1. Put working hair dryers in the rooms. Out of two rooms, neither had a working one and it is not fun to ski with frozen hair
2. Invest in linens that have fitted sheets ( at the very least). I do not appreciate waking up to find myself sleeping directly on the mattress.
3. Put coffee makers in the rooms.
4. Train your waitstaff. They were unfamiliar with their drink menus and seemed to care less if we were there or not
5. Fix the cracks in the doors by the pool. It isn't fun to get out of the pool and feel a negative windchill streaming through the door.

I cannot argue the convenience factor and that obviously dictates the high price, but just having a few of these things taken care of would not cost the hotel much and it would ALMOST justify the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank astanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent 3 days at this property for New Years. It was our first time. We've traveled with 4 year old. Place is older, but very clean (it felt like 90's, but we liked it). We stayed at 3 rd floor (no elevator) and had very big room.
Everything is very close, ski rental, restaurants, ski shop and lifts.
All is very well organized, people are nice.
Plenty of parking spaces. When we were there place was not crowded at all, we didn't have to wait
for restaurant or lifts etc.

Room Tip: Get room at third , its very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dj429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed here when I was in the area working (January 2014) and I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. It was clean and comfortable.and everything worked well. The staff was friendly and when I called to reserve, I asked for a government rate and the manager immediately agreed, even though this is probably their busy time and she didn't have to. I expected to have a small room but that was not the case.

Only thing I was disappointed in is they do not have a workout room, not even a treadmill.

The Summit Grill and Bar is a wonderfully delightful place, big, airy with a fantastic view. The bar is beautiful! Limited choices of food and everything I had was great. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3dogmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Mountain Resort

Address: 8700 Chestnut Dr, Galena, IL 61036-8787
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only in the Midwest will you find such an unexpected diamond in the rough. High above the Mississippi, tucked nicely in the hills near historic Galena, Chestnut Mountain is a premier Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chestnut Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Mountain Galena
Chestnut Mountain Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing