We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Glenview, IL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It could have been so much more”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We purchased unlimited....waste of money. The kids running the ride did not pace the ride well. We waited in line a long time, a run every 30+ minutes...We only went 2x. They would not refund out money. SO word to the wise, choose 1 or 2 runs and go from there. It was such a better deal. It has a beautiful view. It was lots of fun. My daughter with special needs could have loved it or hated it...but she LOVED IT. I do recommend going! Worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mombeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    83
    48
    29
    28
See reviews for
96
79
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This resort has been around a long time, and it definitely is a four-season facility. We were there on a Groupon, so it was a great value. We changed rooms at check-in to avoid going up flights of stairs, and paid a small premium for a recently renovated standard double queen. The room was nice, spacious and equipped with a small fridge and the usual stuff. It had a nice view down the ski slope to the Mississippi, and was quiet. The foodservice facilities on-site were nicely appointed, clean and the food didn't disappoint. In warm weather, the patios were nice for a cool drink under an umbrella, and the ski lifts were operating for a visit to the rivers edge. It is off the beaten track which is a benefit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was shocked to read poor reviews of this hotel. While old and rather out-dated, this hotel is EXTREMELY clean!! The lobby and restaurants have been updated. The room was nothing impressive, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view is amazing!! We took a boat tour and enjoyed a ride on the ski lift.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amarieb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is very clean. the staff are very helpful. it could use a little sprucing up. The TV in our room was old-school, bad reception, generic remote didn't work most of the time. No coffee maker in the room. No free breakfast. Very nice pool and hot tub. Alpine slide was fun. Fabulous view of the Mississippi River. Sunset Grille restaurant in the hotel was very pricey so we didn't eat in there. we did eat at the bar and it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nanadiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, IL, USA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

15 - 20 minutes south of Galena (take Blackjack Rd. south from U.S. 20 on east side of downtown). We stayed at Eagle Ridge Resort and drove down to Chestnut Mtn for breakfast on our way to Mississippi Palisades Park then drive back home to Chicago suburbs. We were lucky with a beautiful sunny morning and the view of the Mississippi River and islands is spectacular. The food was decent, the restaurant is large and comfortable. and the service was fine. We ordered off the menu but for $9.95 there is a buffet that looked real good. We stayed overnight several years ago, and judging by some of the recent comments here I just read, it seems that the guest rooms still need some refurbishing, as they did then. But, the restaurants and bar have wonderful views and our brief restaurant visit gave us another great memory for our weekend getaway trip.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight this time, but would ask for a room with a view that might have had a fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Really needs an upgrade to this century. Horrible sleeping accommodations. Beds and sheets from the 1970s. More like dorms than resort amenities. Everything was kind of run down. Pricing should have been closer to motel pricing for the conditions. Might have been nice 30 years ago.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank IYehling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galena hotels

Galena, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Even though many restaurants in our area were offering Easter Brunch this past Sunday, we chose a trip to Chestnut Mountain Resort. It was well worth the drive! The selections were just right, ham, omelets and the rest of the traditional brunch fare. Seated along the slope side windows it was the perfect place to view Spring time arriving on the bluffs of the Mississippi while enjoying our meal. It is very obvious that the chefs and staff take pride in their offerings as all were prepared perfectly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
855 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
6.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Mountain Resort

Property: Chestnut Mountain Resort
Address: 8700 Chestnut Dr, Galena, IL 61036-8787
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only in the Midwest will you find such an unexpected diamond in the rough. High above the Mississippi, tucked nicely in the hills near historic Galena, Chestnut Mountain is a premier Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Chestnut Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Mountain Galena
Chestnut Mountain Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing