We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!!!! Stay at Eagle Ridge Resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. First off, my husband and I are very frequent travelers and are not super picky about our hotel conditions. We came to Galena to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. The only positive about this hotel is the cheerful bartender.

We faced multiple rude front desk staff...especially the evening staff. Our room was HORRIBLE!!! We had a room facing the parking lot (not the mountain) and our room furniture and linens had not been updated since 1960! I didn't even want to sleep in that bed.

We had to hike our luggage up two flights of stairs. Upon entering our room, my very normal sized husband sat on the edge of the bed to take off his shoes and the bed broke! This is not a joke...the leg literally busted off the bed and it sunk down to the floor. Our TV was a 20 inch tube TV with a remote control that didn't work. The floors were stained and the bathroom was disgusting. Also, don't go to this hotel looking for the in room wi-fi to actually work. We couldn't get it to stay connected on our phones or computer.

We called to see if we could get a different room. The front desk was again...super rude to us. They sent a man to our room with a new key who looked like he might kill or rob us. He had on dirty, baggy clothes and smelled like he was drunk. There was no indication that he actually worked at the hotel. No name tag or uniform.

Upon entering our second room, we immediately noticed a HUGE bug on the ceiling. The floor was in a worse condition. We immediately went down to the front desk to say we were moving hotels and wanted out of our second night. The front desk lady (1am) was very rude and basically did nothing to try to compensate for our terrible experience. She didn't even apologize. She did however continue to harrass us about returning our "breakfast vouchers". Seriously?!?! I would have paid the $12 breakfast fee just to get the heck out of this nightmare hotel.

An additional note - this hotel charges for EVERYTHING!! They feature an Alpine Slide which costs $8 per person for one ride down. Bikes and Segways are additional. The cheap rooms don't matter if they are horrible and everything costs extra!

We moved to the Eagle Ridge Resort. It was lovely!! The rooms were clean, the staff was amazing and polite. The restaurant was delicious. They had a great pool, hiking trails, golf, and FREE bike and boat rentals.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at Chestnut last week. It was really dated. However, I did find out we were in the "dog wing" (where people with dogs stay) and that is why the carpet was so stained, the carpet on the walls was frayed, the door was dirty, etc. I think the non dog rooms are nicer. The view is really outstanding. Just picture perfect. The food at the place is good. The Alpine Slide was a lot of fun as was the chair lift up. I would try to do something to let people know they are in the dog wing so they know why their hallway is so dirty. It's about 10 miles to Galena. I would stay here again but not in the dog wing.

Room Tip: don't stay in the dog wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HappiTravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Seriously needs an upgrade. Everything run down. We could not get WI-FI and could not reach the members of the wedding party we were in...very sad. We also got put on the fourth floor with NO ELEVATOR- lugging our wedding clothes, luggage, trainbox, cooler and a picnic basket- SO UPSET!!! Was hoping to be put in a BLOCK of rooms on the first and second floor with the rest of the wedding party- TERRIBLE!! Nobody came to our room- it was small and too high up for most to climb so we had to go to their room. Bathroom too small for a man thats 6"0 tall ;-( Bedding looked like it came from the 1970s. Bar-nice. Pool- Nice. View was amazing and at least you got that going for you. Overlooked the Mississippi River on the bluff.

Room Tip: Had Wi-Fi but nobody got reception....horrible!! Room 405 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karenk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is out dated but clean. The view is amazing! Restaurant was great also. We watched the sunset from our table. Pool was clean. The Alpine slide was so fun as well as the chair lift. They also offer a small mini golf course in front of the building and a park for the kids to play at. We Will for sure go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlo60451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We purchased unlimited....waste of money. The kids running the ride did not pace the ride well. We waited in line a long time, a run every 30+ minutes...We only went 2x. They would not refund out money. SO word to the wise, choose 1 or 2 runs and go from there. It was such a better deal. It has a beautiful view. It was lots of fun. My daughter with special needs could have loved it or hated it...but she LOVED IT. I do recommend going! Worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Mombeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This resort has been around a long time, and it definitely is a four-season facility. We were there on a Groupon, so it was a great value. We changed rooms at check-in to avoid going up flights of stairs, and paid a small premium for a recently renovated standard double queen. The room was nice, spacious and equipped with a small fridge and the usual stuff. It had a nice view down the ski slope to the Mississippi, and was quiet. The foodservice facilities on-site were nicely appointed, clean and the food didn't disappoint. In warm weather, the patios were nice for a cool drink under an umbrella, and the ski lifts were operating for a visit to the rivers edge. It is off the beaten track which is a benefit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was shocked to read poor reviews of this hotel. While old and rather out-dated, this hotel is EXTREMELY clean!! The lobby and restaurants have been updated. The room was nothing impressive, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view is amazing!! We took a boat tour and enjoyed a ride on the ski lift.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amarieb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Mountain Resort

Address: 8700 Chestnut Dr, Galena, IL 61036-8787
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only in the Midwest will you find such an unexpected diamond in the rough. High above the Mississippi, tucked nicely in the hills near historic Galena, Chestnut Mountain is a premier Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chestnut Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Mountain Galena
Chestnut Mountain Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing