We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISSAPOINTED,DEFINETILY NOT OVER THE TOP!”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Dyer, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DISSAPOINTED,DEFINETILY NOT OVER THE TOP!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Sept 2/3 2011,
First the pros,Location is excellant and rooms are historical and quaint.
That said I guess i'll have to list the cons which unfortunatly outweight the pros.
Upon making our reservations for a couples weekend we were looking forward to all the amenities offered by this establishment.Even though the rooms (King Room) come at a hefty price of 190.00 per night we felt from hotels said discription that it would be worth it.
Upon arrival we found that the elevator in the parking garage was out of order and continued to be so our entire stay.This required traveling from floor to floor on the ramps to gain acess to the lobby,but grin and bear it we needed a little exercise,so what the heck!
(Later we found out they had a golf cart to shuttle people between floors but never saw any one in it)
Checking into our room went well and we found are room clean and ready. Amenities are quite spartan for this price range,Supplied are basic toiletrys as would be provided in any midrange motel. Do not expect a minifridge or an iron and board in room but in all fairness these may have been available upon request.
well,time to check out the hotels restaurants and pubs that are advertised, Unfortunatly we found that Generals Restaurant was closed for renovation as was the courtyard restaurant with th adjoining shops and walkways also under construction.This left the Green tavern and restaurant the only place open. After discovering these discrepencies we went to the front desk and explained our dissapointement and wish we had been told of these closures at the time of our reservation. When we asked the Manager if some type of comp could be considered we were told that she would think about it.Unfortunately not to much thought was put into it. Upon checkout are bill was for the entire amount of 435.00. Oh well live and learn,
Being in Buisness also I Know the importance of turning a profit but also that you do not charge 100% if you are not delivering 100%.Customers should be informed of temporary shortcomings upfront so they can plan thier stays and activities ahead of time.
Will we stay here again? Not likely.!
Will we visit Galena Again? You bet!
Will just have to trade a little location for service and amenities as stated,like maybe a bed and breakfast or country inn and suites up the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FEERLESSWARRIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1855, General Manager at DeSoto House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We want everyone who stays with us to have a very enjoyable visit. We have been combating the effects of a devasting rain storm which left us with approximately 2 1/2 feet of water in our entire lower level. The lower level is home to both our Courtyard and Generals' Restaurants as well as our meeting rooms. Our parking garage elevator was destroyed by the high water and we have tried to accommodate our guests by using a golf cart to transport them and their luggage . We are serving our Generals' menu in our Green Street Tavern and Restaurant which is lobby level. The effects of this water damage have been extensive and we have tried to accommodate our guests in every way we can. Again, I apologize that your stay was not what the DeSoto House is known for. We only hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    161
    26
    20
    11
See reviews for
92
301
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I have been returning to the Desoto House Hotel twice a year for over 12 years. In that time we have gotten to know some of the staff and have a favorite room. We return because of the the beauty of the hotel itself, the wonderful staff and how we feel so welcomed when we walk in the door. After all these years it has become a second home to us and we are always looking forward to walking through their front door again.

Room Tip: Try different rooms and ask if you can see others while you are there. You will find your favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel is very comfortable and cozy and full of History. Although the room was on the smaller side in comparison to a newer hotel it was big enough to be comfortable with 4 of us in one room; it was immaculate clean and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The location is perfect to walk and shop the downtown strip. Very centrally located so you can drop your purchases back in your room and continue shopping down the strip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Abe Lincoln & US Grant sure knew something when they stayed at the Desoto House! This place is fantastic, right out of the history books. You can just picture Honest Abe or local boy Ulysses speaking from the balcony on Main St. The lobby should be on a post card & they still use real brass keys for the rooms! The staff could not have been better to work with. My wife & I selected the Desoto House as our host hotel for our wedding in July of 2011. Two days before the nuptials, Galena was hit with 13+ inches of rain, knocking out power to much of downtown. In most cases this would have been disastrous but the Desoto House folks were great, they kept us informed and in no time at all had the hotel back up & running. Our wedding went off without a hitch and we are glad that we stuck with them. Main Street is the main artery of historic Galena and the Desoto is the PERFECT place to do the town and enjoy all that is has to offer. Just pull the car into their garage and leave it, you'll never need it again until you check out & head home. You can walk to every restaurant, bar & museum from the Desoto and stumble home after as well! You feel like you have stepped back to a time when people treated guests like family. The Desoto House "get's it”. We can't say enough good things about them. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on Presidents Row if you can. Or one that overlooks Main Street on the upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The food, service and professionalism of the staff was incomparable. Deb and her team made us feel at home and were there for anything we needed. I would heartily recommemnd to any associate and have suggested this venue for another car meet next summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msoldato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Elgin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our needlepoint guild recently completed our second retreat at the Desoto. The accomodations are wonderful and the staff is excellent. From the front desk to the wait staff to the management - everyone was professional and personal. They were constantly checking on us to see what they could do to make our event and our stay better. They made us feel like part of the family. This is our second year at the hotel and we have already scheduled our return trip for 2012. I highly recommend you check out the Desoto. The hotel is a beautiful old hotel and the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmccoy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Highly recommend the Dinner and Dancing event at the Desoto... First-rate band (River City 6) played Big Band hits and a dance class beforehand ensured that we all could dance to some basic swing... It was truly a memorable evening and we look forward to the next one!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProDeoEtPatria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
855 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing