We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Location”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Desoto House because of the convenience. We attended a wedding in Galena and were attracted to how near it was to the reception. Indeed it was a perfect location to wedding events, restaurants, shopping and The Desoto House had private parking for their guests, very nice!
The building itself and the hotel decor left something to be desired! It was badly in need of updating (bathroom, bedding, carpeting) and the hallways had the rather unpleasant odor of disinfectant. We wished the staff had told us about the complimentary coffee available to us throughout the day but as it was we only discovered this as we were leaving on the last day.
We will stay there again and will gladly pay a higher room price for an updated room.

Room Tip: Choose a front room if you want to watch the shoppers go by and get a good view of Galena
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our 1st stay at the DeSoto House. Beautifully restored hotel - lots of history. The rooms were beautifully done and very spacious. Our room had an interior courtyard view which is okay, but we were not in the room that much anyway so the view was not an issue. As other reviewers have mentioned, one of the best features of the hotel is its location - right in the heart of shopping and dining - and the free underground parking. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, but the bartender in the lounge makes a pretty good chocolate martini!

Room Tip: Book early to get an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I would say that the best reason to stay in this hotel is location, location, location! The history of the building adds to its charm but it is pricey for the accommodations alone. The convenience is what you are paying for. Like other reviews have mentioned, you can step right out the door to the many shops, restaurants, historical sights and parks. You don't even need your car once you arrive. Free multi-level parking is available in their private lot. Our room was spacious and had plenty of room for a roll away bed in needed. We never ate in the hotel so I can't speak of the food.
Even if you don't stay here you can stop in and do a self guided tour of the place. Pick up a brochure at the counter in the lobby and read the signs posted by all the pictures on the wall. There are two videos that run continuously explaining the history of the area and the hotel in the hotel quiet room on the second floor. Be sure to check that out too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We went to Galena for the weekend and stayed at the DeSota on the recommendation of another couple we were traveling with and were not disappointed. The location was perfect for hitting the shops. We could shop awhile stop back at the hotel and then go out again. The hotel was also handy for all the great restaurants located downtown. The history of the hotel was amazing and made it more interesting and fitting with our Galena stay. The parking ramp was appreciated and convenient to the rooms. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The wait staff at the Courtyard eating area were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: When you request a street view room confirm that it is main street not a side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was our 2nd time staying here and again it was fantastic! Friendly staff and a lovely room! We stayed in a parlor suite which was nice because in the morning I get up earlier than my husband so I could go tot heparlor, shut the door and not disturb his sleep. The great location and parking only make it better!!! We wll be back here for our next Galena weekend trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherL340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We really appreciated the heritage of the DeSoto Hotel when we stayed for 2 nights at the start of September; but more than that we enjoyed the comfort of this traditional-style hotel, the great location with all the enticing restaurants and shops of Galena's characterful main street on the doorstep, and the exceptionally helpful front desk staff who went out of their way to provide assistance as we prepared for our return journey back to Scotland. There was ample parking in the garage block convenient to the hotel, and the package which we had chosen was especially good value as it included breakfast and a sightseeing tour of Galena. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strathallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We took a motorcycle ride to Galena and stayed at Desoto House 9/11/12. Great place to stay, great people,and great history. The room was very clean and modern for a 1855 hotel. The bed was great and the room was quiet for sleeping. A little area of wallpaper was peeled back next to the shower but not a problem for us, plus the ghost never stopped by, slept great. Staying in Galena, be where the history is at, at a great price

Room Tip: Didnt use a fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
879 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing