We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Galena”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Charles City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best location in Galena”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Desoto House Hotel is a very nice place to stay when you visit Galena. The location couldn't be better and with their free garage parking you can park and walk pretty much everywhere. They have done a wonderful job of restoring this hotel while adding modern conveniences. I would recommend a room facing the street as the view is quite nice. Good service, decent rooms, great location!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    161
    26
    20
    11
See reviews for
92
301
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Desoto, the staff was congenial, the food very good, the room exceptional. The parking garage is a plus in the close quarters of downtown. The history of the area is so interesting and our plan included a trolley tour not to be missed.

Room Tip: The concierge was helpful in showing available rooms; don't hesitate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emjaymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
702 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

PROS: free parking in their garage makes it convenient to tour Main street; clean bedrooms and bathrooms; convenient little rooms around the hotel – our favorite is the one on the main floor near the Atrium that has books and a TV playing a documentary of Galena’s colorful history. It’s a stark reminder of Galena’s powerful past when the Galena had a population larger than Chicago and big ships sailed down Galena River.

CONS: none.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We took their history, mystery tour last saturday night and it was wonderful! Steve, our tour guide, has worked at the local library for years and gives you only facts. The tour only costs $10 per person & kids high school age and under are free. My 11 & 14 yr old were bored as it was much more history than mystery, but my mother and I really enjoyed it. The best part of the tour is at the end when you tour the hotel and hear it's ghost stories. This is truly the best deal in Galena and you get to truly get the feel of Galena with a walking tour. Thank you Steve - it was truly nice to have a guide with so much knowledge, that truly loved his job! We will be staying at the Desoto house next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were very impressed with the service at DeSoto House. The staff were especially helpful with storing sports equipment we brought with us. The location is on Main Street and very convenient for someone who wants to visit restaurants and shops in town. Rooms are comfortable. As other reviewers have remarked, rooms that face the atrium are dim and receive little or no natural light. The decor is rather dark, but furnishings, bedding, etc. are in good condition. The bathrooms could use some freshening. New and lighter color shower curtains would help. A major negative is that door closings are extremely loud. We were awakened both nights by doors banging.

Room Tip: Ask for a street-facing room if you want natural light or air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrugalTraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It may be old, but it’s solid gold! Staying here is very much a part of the historical Galena experience. You just cannot beat the prime main street location. Plus they have FREE parking in their parking garage. I have stayed in many an old historic hotel and can honestly say that this one is in very good shape. Our well appointed room was huge. The air worked great, the beds and pillows were super comfy, the modern bathroom lacked nothing and the main street view from our windows (yes, 3 huge windows!!!) was to die for. As an old building there are some minor quirks, one being no central elevator between the hotel and the parking garage, and there are some uneven floors in the hallways, but this was such a minor complaint. Courteous knowledgeable staff. Great historic hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmGirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed in the Simpson Grant room at the De Soto House in historic Galena, Illinois. The room was very spacious and clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The manager switched rooms when I checked in due to mold around the AC unit which they accommodated immediately upon request. They offered a package of breakfast and a trolley ride, which I declined due to scheduling, but I have taken this package previously and it is a nice addition for $35. The rooms are updated and decorated in the Victorian decor of 1855 when the hotel was built and housed the likes of Lincoln and PT Barnum. You step back in time at this hotel but everything is updated and first class.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the atrium can be a little quieter than rooms that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
855 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing