We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Elwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quaint and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our first time to Galena and we stay at the historic DeSoto House. Check in was very easy and our room was very clean and comfortable. We were in Galena for a short getaway with 2 other couples. Nice location where you can park when you get there and then not drive until you check out.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of Green St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillihan989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    152
    24
    18
    11
See reviews for
84
282
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from staying at the DeSoto House in Galena IL.
An awesome experience! I spend over 150 nights a year in hotels, so I get jaded and unhappy quickly with underperforming properties ..... DeSoto house is NOT one of these!!
This is a property with a very interesting history going back to 1850's. The hotel is in excellent condition with a great restaurant and pub. The quality of the food is excellent and the wait staff also very good!
Our rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed capturing the "old world" style. Everything is clean and fresh.
They have a private parking garage for their guests, which is terrific, as downtown Galena is very "challenged" with public parking on the Main Street.
Heading back there for the fall colors!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olbear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Menu and service were commendable. But the real reason for eating her is for the ambiance. I felt like I should have been dressed for the turn of the last century. Several vegetarian items on the menu.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Siampayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Desoto House Hotel is a lovely old hotel. The hotel is up to date but still has the charm of an older hotel. We booked a room on the third floor facing Main Street. The room was spotless, very large, cheerful, bright with a high ceiling and it was quiet (we were near the very end of the front rooms) even though we faced Main Street. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated the WIFI. I would not stay in an atrium room if you like quiet and brightness. The back rooms don't have the large windows (we had three in our room). I thought given the price that the hotel should offer better towels. The towels were thin and you are provided just one towel each, It would have been nice to have a mini refrigerator. This hotel is right in town with free parking and I looked at the other hotels in the area and I know I made the right decision in choosing this hotel. For two nights the price was $460.00 including tax. I don't think I will be back to Galena but if I returned I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the third floor overlooking Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baseball111997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We did not actually stay at the hotel, but with its rich history, it's worth a visit if you're on your way through. We had good service at the bar, then walked around and admired. The old hotel is very historic. On another occasion, we had lunch, which was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulsacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Galena for one day stay on our way back from Iowa to Chicago.We found this package deal on line for one night with a king bed and overlook main street. In addition we also received lunch for two at one of the hotel's restaurants plus a choice of a history trolley ride, a garden walk or admission to a museum. We also were able to park our car in the hotel's garage!
The room was spacious and clean. The furniture needed upgrade. The television cabinet had some tracks removed and the screw holes were left behind. My guess was that TV was sitting on sliding tracks and the tracks has since been removed. Overall it was a nice stay, convenient location and free Wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles City, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Desoto House Hotel is a very nice place to stay when you visit Galena. The location couldn't be better and with their free garage parking you can park and walk pretty much everywhere. They have done a wonderful job of restoring this hotel while adding modern conveniences. I would recommend a room facing the street as the view is quite nice. Good service, decent rooms, great location!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing