We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Excellent location”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a 1 night stay at the DeSoto House. You really can't beat the location. Right downtown in the middle of all the shopping,eating and drinking establishments. I loved the parking garage
to keep the Harley safe, secure and out of the weather.
The room was roomy, the bed comfortable. The hotel seemed quiet despite a full house. Unlike a few years ago when we stayed here during a wedding and reception.
The breakfast buffet was good.
The only downside is that it seems a bit expensive, but that's the price you pay for the great location....I guess

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hogdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for DeSoto House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had an opportunity to join friends for a long weekend adventure to Galena. We expected a reconstructed town and hotel, with the flavor of history. We were so pleasantly surprised. Not only had the DeSoto House embraced their historical roots, but went to great efforts to retain their history. They were able to provide clean and comfortable rooms with all of the amenities that we needed. All of the employees were helpful and courteous and went out of their way to make our group's stay, memorable. Pricey, yes, but we are willing to pay a bit more to support the historically significant DeSoto House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I chose the DeSoto House because of it's location in Galena -- we weren't disappointed. It's location on Main Street afforded us the opportunity to stroll amongst the historic buildings and sample the commerce in Galena. And it was within walking distance of the two Galena Parks which was of value to our reason for staying there -- the annual Lions Club Octoberfest (which I might recommend your consideration as it was a lot of fun.)

The hotel was defined early as, upon registration, Jo, at the registration desk, was extremely friendly, helpful and efficient taking care of our every need and then some. She completely gave us a verbal tour of the hotel during registration, which helped us to get around. She also made recommendations of what was awaiting us on Main Street.

The attached and enclosed parking garage was convenient. The room was very clean and made up in a timely manner. The bed was comfortable, but the storage for clothes could have had a few more drawers for an extended stay. A little light (and noise) seeped in around the door which, while completely secure, had gaps between it and the door frame which were a little too large. The air conditioning was easy to use and worked very well.

There were several restaurants, however and even though we received generous coupons at registration, we only dined at the Generals. Laura, our server, was outstanding, delivering our drinks and food quite efficiently and with a little fun. The food was very, very good, and prepared as we asked. (We did not order any seafood selections and there was a 'fishy' odor in the restaurant -- it didn't spoil our dinner, though.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank None O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I walked into the Desoto House with a little bit of anxiety as we had recently visited an "Historic Hotel" in Wyoming and found it bad at best. The Desoto was just the opposite. It was clean and elegant. The choice of eating places in the hotel were awesome. We found our room to be large, clean and comfortable. I would tell anyone to visit this wonderful treasure and to enjoy Galena.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 438John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Despite getting a deal with breakfast included ( which was fantastic), a Sunday night in September still cost $188. However, we stayed in Elizabeth Cady Stanton's room, in a beautifully comfortable bed and with the benefit of a great downtown location . The courtyard restaurant was atmospheric and the on site parking handy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneCowdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our second stay at the DeSoto House Hotel. We enjoyed it so much our last visit we decided to celebrate our Anniversary there and booking a midweek special. With the special we were able to stay in the Parlour Suite at a reduced rate, and received free lunch tickets for the Green Street Tavern located inside the hotel. The special also included complimentary tickets for a trolley ride, museum admit and Linmar Gardens to use during our stay. Our room was awesome, loved having the extra sitting room w/ fireplace. Housekeeping service was excellent, and the Green Street Tavern has a great menu with very good food. Loved having the Courtyard Rest. also available right inside the hotel to get a great breakfast to start off each day if we chose to. However our best experience was returning to our room after a day of shopping to find a complimentary bottle of wine, 2 wine glasses and a wine bottle opener as an anniversary gift from the hotel. We have reservations to return in October!

Room Tip: Check the midweek specials which allow you to stay in a room that is more expensive during peak time...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy_and_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wow oh wow! This place is amazing and right in the middle of Main Street. I loved everything about it. I got an AARP rate but upgraded to an Internet special (check before you book) and received for a few dollars more a gift certificate for dinner there (ended up completely free), tickets to a museum, a DeSoto candy bar, historical brochure about the hotel, etc. The room also comes with fee bottled water. I booked a parlor room with a separate room with a fireplace and found it charming. All décor in the hotel is 19th century. All three restaurants were very fine. The high-end “Generals” was lovely and I had the best fish I ever ate in my life there. The 4-story atrium restaurant was so pleasant and breakfast was good. All hotel personnel were helpful and friendly. Oh, and it has covered parking. After you register they tell you where it is – it’s very inconspicuous since the entrance is an old barn entrance! Took the trolley tour too. Very informative. Galena is a great get-away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing