We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location & no-hassle parking. And they still use real keys!”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, IL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great downtown location & no-hassle parking. And they still use real keys!”
Reviewed 12 March 2009

My new husband and I honeymooned at the DeSoto last March during Easter weekend. We took advantage of everything the hotel had to offer; from shopping in it's stores (accessible only from Main street), to enjoying drinks in both its restaurants and pub, borrowing a book from its library, learning about the hotel's rich history, enjoying a ghost tour, and the spectacular Easter brunch they held the following Sunday. (Which we HIGHLY recommend to anyone and everyone planning a visit to Galena!) The ambiance of the hotel is warm and inviting, and the staff was very friendly and informative. Our room was very clean and cozy. But for its size and limited amenities, overpriced. We loved that the hotel is right in the middle of downtown and within walking distance to all the shops.The best part is that the DeSoto has an underground parking garage so you don't have to worry about finding a spot in the crowded streets. The hotel has undergone some renovations and navigating around the halls and your parking place was like walking around in a maze. Which made it somewhat inconvenient, especially for a smoker! As I mentioned earlier, the hotel's stores were only accessible from Main Street, which means you have to leave the hotel to enter them. Certain parts of the parking garage are the same way. Architectual inconveniences aside, we loved the DeSoto House Hotel and look forward to an anniversary stay!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger_lilly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    158
    25
    19
    11
See reviews for
90
298
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We got back to our room - which was on the 'courtyard" side, about 9pm to be greeted by music so loud we couldn't even hear each other speak. When I called the front desk to complain, I was informed that "they'd been putting up signs all day telling people there was going to be a wedding". I replied that we hadn't been there all day, and certainly wouldn't have known that "a wedding" = "you'd think the band is in your room, it's so loud". I asked to speak to the manager and was told she would contact me, which she never did. We did complain at checkout and received the night's stay for free, but this hotel is simply not made to host large wedding receptions. We will not go back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — loud music - rude staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank midwesttraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We found the hotel very satisfactory. It was very clean and the staff was very nice. The room (215) seemed to have new paint and paper. It was cleaned well and promptly every morning. We ate at all 3 restaurants and they were very good. The parking garage and central location were a definite plus.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank m71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

The staff and management at the Desoto are rude and very unprofessional. My husband and I have stayed at the Desoto many times. After, our last stay we'll never go back. We checked into the DeSoto for a nice weekend. Saturday night we noticed they were going to have a wedding. We were very surprised since the Desoto doesn't have any large banquet rooms. The reception was held in the atrium. Our hotel room literally vibrated with the loud music. We couldn't even stay in the room. The wedding reception ended at 11 p.m. Then we had to deal with people who had too much to drink. We were woken up by loud sounds from the upstair room. We called the desk over and over and no one answered the phone. My husband had to get dressed and go downstairs. No one was at the desk. The hotel employee was in the back room on the computer. The hotel employee went upstairs to tell the people to quiet down. He told us nothing was going on upstairs. My husband has tried calling the Desoto General manager twice. She won't even return his call. This hotel has gone from being a nice hotel to a dump!

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The rude employees and the loud noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank autumnGurnee_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Ill.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

My husband and I frequent the Desoto every couple of years as the drive from Chicago to Galena is picturesque and very soothing. The parking is great as there is a garge in the building which is great as parking was always a problem. The individuals at the front desk have always been warm and welcoming. This has always been our favorite hotel and always recommended it to others whenever possible. However, this year on Labor Day weekend, my husband and I made reservations directly with the Manager who was very kind and also provided us with free brunch tickets since we frequent this establishment as much as possible. How disappointed we were when we arrived. The wine tour reservations were never made along with not providing us with free brunch tickets. When I inquired about the wine tour I was rudely told that it was never made. My husband who never comments about how rude people can be stated privately that the individual at Desoto made him feel it was our fault for their mistake. In addition the room was musty, had to call downstairs for towels, the sink stopper was grimmy and full of tar. I left it out for maid service to see and clean but she put it right back in the sink. That was the last straw. To top it off, we paid $199.00 per night!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — front desk service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Galena_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed on Friday/Saturday nights in 301 & 302. A/C worked fine, comfy bed. Older renovation shows age, but we thought that it added to the historic feel. Heard about the slanty floor in 309 here and from guests at hotel, they were amused by it.
Great location, parking and food. See the Mark Twain show while you're there.
Be prepared for occasional VERY loud Harly exhaust noise from the surrounding streets. Annoying, but not a major deal.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — Loud Harly exhausts from time to time.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMBSeWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

De Soto house is right in the middle of Main Street so really easy to find when you come into town. The decor is a little old fashioned but it goes with the history of the hotel. It didn't look worn though. The floor we were on had named rooms which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good and very yummy (waffles!) Parking was good and really convenient.

When we came to check out, it took some effort to get an itemised bill and then the bill didn't include our breakfast or the drinks we'd had the night before and the person on reception didn't seem to be bothered by this (good thing we are honest!)

  • Liked — Location and history of the hotel
  • Disliked — Front desk on check out but wasn't too bad
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingNicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
848 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing