We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Steamboat House
Ranked #17 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is a wonderful period style bed and breakfast, if you love antiques then this would be a great place for you to stay.
We really enjoyed Glen and Char, they were very informative about the area and had some great stories to tell about the house's history.
The one wish we have for our next stay, and, yes we WILL be back is that they would provide a healthy option (fruite, granola, ect) along with the wonderful home cooked/baked options they provide (don't mistake anything the breakfast was wonderful).

This is a great place to stay in Galena, Il

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monstershorebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    16
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
98
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights and enjoyed every minute. Terrific hosts (friendly, helpful), good breakfasts, nice conversation, very interesting house, clean and comfortable bedroom, terrific porch, close to downtown. Recommend highly!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dundee, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We just recently stayed at The Steamboat House this past weekend. When we were planning our weekend start in Galena, we weren't quite sure of which bed and breakfast to choose in Galena. I reviewed several online sites and decided to also reach out to the owners to ask a few additional questions. Glen made our decision even easier, and I could tell they took a lot of pride in their B&B.
House: Stunning!! Well decorated and each room was unique in its own way. Loved the antiques and decor that were displayed throughout the house.
Rooms: VERY Clean!! My wife is very particular when it comes to room cleanliness and she was very pleased with the room, as well as the entire house. We enjoyed our room choice and would definitely stay in the 'Elsie' room when we book a future visit.
Owners: Glen and Char really made our stay enjoyable and comfortable. They were available and ready to assist when needed, but also made it possible for us to enjoy their place without feeling like they were always right there(seen this at other B&Bs). Thank you for making us feel so welcome and we appreciated your outstanding hospitality!!
Location: Walking distance of downtown. Good location!

Thanks for the great breakfast Glen and Char and we appreciated your insight and recommendations to dining and stores in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We are so happy that we stayed here! Wonderful, friendly, and down to earth people who own and run it. They made you feel very welcome and were not afraid to use and enjoy their antiques, that filled the house! Very clean rooms and they thought of all the details that people like when they are staying away from home. The breakfasts were gourmet! Could never finish it all because there was always plenty of it!
Loved visiting and sharing stories with the owners and the other guests. We hope to get the opportunity to go again, and maybe take some friends with us!

Room Tip: Did not mean to hit terrible for fitness center. There was none nor a swimming pool as it was a B&a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very nice B&B. The Steamboat proprietess runs a tight ship. Check in was permitted only at the appointed and listed hour. If you like "soft" schedule this place is NOT for you. However, quite nice, good food, nice rooms, location is good and the grounds are attractive. My wife and I agreed that we would stay here again ( although the stern mistress of the house was a bit of a turn off for me). If she lightened up a bit,this would be a "5 Dot" rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chi_Arne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had only stayed at one other B&B before so we weren't sure what to expect. Our stay with Glen and Char could not have been more relaxing and enjoyable. The Steamboat House has been beautifully restored and decorated with historical memorabilia and antiques. The front of the house has a large porch, gazebo and gardens; a great place relax sitting in a rocker and enjoy a coffee or wine. The wine and cheese "hour" each night was great to get to know the other guests and hear the stories Glen and Char shared not to mention the great wines and unique cheeses. The multi-course breakfasts were creative and outstanding. We had such a great time we will definitely be back. Thanks to Glen and Char for your gracious hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoDaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseilles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I think of the Steamboat House as home when we visit Galena. Glen and Char always make our stay memorable - such a beautiful house, delicious breakfast, great conversation, and fabulous wine time. We always come home relaxed and refreshed and look forward to our next visit to the Steamboat House.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMarseilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat House

Property: The Steamboat House
Address: 605 S Prospect St, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of historic Galena in the extraordinary mansion built by legendary steamboat captain Daniel Smith Harris in 1855. A walk-to-town location, evening wine and cheese hour, heirloom antique furnishings, and gracious surroundings provide guests with the very finest bed and breakfast experience."Galena's favorite bed & breakfast" is a destination in itself. The Steamboat House showcases architectural excellence with its grand foyer, billiard room, parlors, library and formal dining room, all meticulously restored for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing