We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Overnight Stay!”
Review of Worldmark Galena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Worldmark Galena
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Overnight Stay!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We've stayed here a handful of times, and this time we were just here overnight while traveling to/from Chicago. Each time has been a wonderful experience, but this was our first time staying in a studio vs. one bedroom. Both types of rooms are very sufficient for what is needed. If we were to stay longer, a one bedroom would have been much better, but the studio is great, too!
A couple of ladies were checking in ahead of us and it didn't seem they were quite happy with their room (location/view), and wanted to change it. The front desk person did a very good job of having patience and a positive attitude while dealing with them. The front desk person contacted her "higher up" to see what they could do, and when giving the women their options, the women took even longer to decide what they wanted to do! I am uncertain I would have been able to remain as calm and positive as the employee as she smiled the whole way through getting them satisfied, so I wanted to commend her.
We were able to take advantage of many of the amenities this time during our short stay - the hot tub, fireplace, balcony in the morning with our coffee/tea, and big jacuzzi tub! We were going to rent a movie from the front desk, but we didn't think we'd make it through without falling asleep! However, they had some of the best options I've seen - many new releases we would have been interested in watching.
My only "non positive observation", is that in the 2nd floor vending area, I wanted to fill up my water bottle using their water cooler. The jug was empty with a full one on the floor next to it, which I noticed in the evening. I thought it would be switched by morning (close to our noon check-out), but it wasn't. This was an extremely minor observation, and I simply used the one downstairs to fill up, no biggie. I would have switched it myself if I would have known how!
We always look forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    35
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
52
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This was our second time to stay here. We absolutely loved the friendly staff and the size of the room. We stayed at one bedroom apartment. The hotel was very quiet. We came here during the Spring Break and we found out only another family and ours using the swimming pool. My kids loved the swimming pool since it was warm. We also used the recreation room (pool table) and this time only my family was there.

The hotel was about 10 minutes from downtown Galena and located in a very quiet area so this would not be a good hotel for those who want to experience Galena's life (day and night). Also one minor downside of this hotel was we need to pay $3 each if we want to rent DVDs and they only had old ones. Other than that, we loved our time here and planned to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hdfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This property is going through the transition into a Wyndham property and we were pleasantly surprised that our room (booked at the last minute) was newly renovated, clean and cozy. Even though it was a studio (with a Murphy bed). The queen sized mattress was adequate and surprisingly comfortable. The fireplace that separates the whirlpool area from the living area provided enough warmth while using the whirlpool (big enough for 2) and the living area / bedroom. Carpeting was all new as well. Note the studio has a fridge, stove top and microwave but no oven, so not a big deal if you're not baking anything.

The pool area and hot tub were great. The pool room itself can use a paint job, but I'm sure that's scheduled. They were having problems with the sauna (dry) which didn't get much past 85 degrees but the service ticket was noted. The workout room was decent with 2 relatively new treadmills, 2 bikes and a huge weight machine. All in perfect working order.

Service is terrific and very helpful. It's really pleasant to be actually "welcomed" into the resort if even for a 2 night stay. They were helpful with recommendations and directions as well.

Lastly, note that this location is about 8 miles away from downtown Galena and is a nice drive, just don't expect to walk out your front door or across the street to any attractions.

Room Tip: Having a valley view room is nice, BUT..... it's also on the sunny side. So if you're a lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
212 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had 2 studios. The rooms were very roomy and the kitchette was very nice. A 2 burner stove, small refridge and sink was very nice. A full compliment of pots and pans, dishes for a seating of 4, an outside gas grill, everything was great. There was an indoor swimming pool/jacuzi/sauna area. There was a rec room with pool table, fooz ball and ping pong. There was an arcade that had to be fed coins. The exercise room was very nice. The location is very convient to Chestnut Mountain for skiing, or Galena for shops and restaurants. We also took some time and visited Wisconsin and other nearby towns. As we only stayed 3 eveings, but that was more than enough for 2 pre teens. This resort is designed for personal down time and recharging the batteries. If you are looking for action packed, run, run, run, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have been here twice in the last couple years. Very hard to book through Wyndham, as this is very popular and limited number of units. A small resort that has personal service but leaves you alone to enjoy your stay. No sales or owner update meetings. Nice pool, patio with bbq gas grills, game room, exercise room, and beautiful accommodations. Even the studio units ( little kitchenette) have plenty of room and the hot tub with fireplace. Very romantic.
The area around the resort is full of hilly scenic and historic things to see and do. Towns, skiing, a Luge, shopping, the Mississippi River is not too far away, Galena, Dubuque…never enough time too see it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank likemywyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I celebrated our actual 25th wedding anniversary. We originally did a trip to Hawaii that included a cruise to the islands a month prior to this trip. So on our actual anniversary we decided to try this resort. We used my Aunt’s timeshare. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff. They informed us of the amenities and things to do for the weekend. The rooms were great. They have a huge soaking tub with a few jets. The water was only a small issue since they had just put in a new system you had to run the water a bit. It came out brownish but after that you were good to go. We hiked the grounds of Eagle Ridge and decided to even golf. The course there is amazing. We also were able to watch the Halloween Parade in town. That was great! The floats were good we really liked the Hot Air Balloons! It was kind of chilly that night and the heat they let out was welcomed. The resort pool and hot tub are really nice. They have a workout room but we didn’t part take since we hiked and played golf. The one course is open all year round. (weather permitting). The staff at the front desk had great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. On our actual anniversary we opened our door to find a nice note attached to a few balloons wish us well. They really go above and beyond in the service department. I would definitely go back to this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We came to Galena for the first time and stayed at WorldMark for 5 nights. The studio rooms we had (3) were very nice. The pool was decent but the hot tub was so full of chemicals it made our eyes burn. The owners lounge with games was a nice addition but everything cost so bring $ should you want to take advantage of this amenity. We rented movies here nightly for the kids which also cost.

The front desk staff - especially Amy - was wonderful and made our trip more enjoyable.

Internet access is not free - it cost $4.95 per day and was a mess during our stay. I called about the issues and was told they set up all my computers to access the net. This was not the case. I hope they get this fixed soon.

The location is about 8 miles from downtown Galena. If you don't mind driving into town - which we didn't this is a good family environment. Loads of kids and families. There is no restaurant on property.

We have been to better resorts in other places. However, for the $ and the appropriateness of this property for our group/family I give the place high marks. Also, the property is nice - clean - and well done.

I would certainly recommend this property to anyone who comes here for a family vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schnedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
7.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Galena

Property: Worldmark Galena
Address: 5129 W Longhollow Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Galena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worldmark Galena 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Worldmark Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Galena Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing