We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, sylvan place”
Review of Worldmark Galena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Worldmark Galena
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quiet, sylvan place”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If peace and quiet is important to you, this place is great. The leaves were starting to turn color, and the soothing tree views were icing on the cake. The drive is winding, and the quaint, small midwestern towns are as truly american as one can get. Of course, Galena is interesting because of the history and the sites. We had a studio unit, which was adequate. The corridors were not new, and needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
54
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here a while back when we went to Galena. We loved it here, our room was so nice and cozy and our view was great. It was a very clean please and it was very easy to get to and to get back and forth from town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelz225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Worldmark Social Media Team at Worldmark Galena, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your unit amenities. Thank you for taking the time to provide us this great feedback. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Delton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a group traveling together, so we had 4 rooms. Odd numbers had a nice view, even numbers had a view of the parking lot. we socialized in the odd number room. We had the studio rooms, where you only have a small kitchenette, no full sized frig [don't buy any ice cream]. no real room for the coffee pot, we put ours in the bathroom as there was more room. Plenty of space in the room with the bed up, once it's down, we had to rearrange the furniture. Great friendly staff. Free WiFi, another nice touch. Would go back again, though I’d bring my own pillow – they were soft and the mattress was hard – for my liking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We are Worldmark owners, and have stayed at many locations over the years. This property is very nice, but the real winning aspect is the staff! The front desk personnel are very helpful and informative (especially Elizabethann), Unlike most Worldmark properties this has the feel of a lodge, with a warm inviting lobby and enclosed hallways.

The location is peacefully located about 7 miles out of town, but with direct highway access to Galena (and points beyond).

If you are a Worldmark (or Wyndham) owner, book well in advance as the earlier you book the higher priority your reservation. This is important here, as units face either the valley or the highway, and you definitely want the valley.

Room Tip: Book early for a valley side unit, and a higher floor. There are three floors. The main entry is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GH_traveler_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place was great. From the get-go they cleaned our room fast and allowed early check-in so my youngest could take a nap. Great, clean pool for the kids and the room was immaculately clean! Plenty of kitchen items to make your own food and also coffee and microwave popcorn were provided. Nice fireplace and fantastic farmer's market just down the road on Sundays.

My reason for 4 stars is due to the fact that they could insulate the rooms between floors a bit more. I could hear the people above us walking and talking loud, but a quick call to the front desk and they graciously asked the room to quiet down - and not a peep after that.

For the price, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We've stayed here a handful of times, and this time we were just here overnight while traveling to/from Chicago. Each time has been a wonderful experience, but this was our first time staying in a studio vs. one bedroom. Both types of rooms are very sufficient for what is needed. If we were to stay longer, a one bedroom would have been much better, but the studio is great, too!
A couple of ladies were checking in ahead of us and it didn't seem they were quite happy with their room (location/view), and wanted to change it. The front desk person did a very good job of having patience and a positive attitude while dealing with them. The front desk person contacted her "higher up" to see what they could do, and when giving the women their options, the women took even longer to decide what they wanted to do! I am uncertain I would have been able to remain as calm and positive as the employee as she smiled the whole way through getting them satisfied, so I wanted to commend her.
We were able to take advantage of many of the amenities this time during our short stay - the hot tub, fireplace, balcony in the morning with our coffee/tea, and big jacuzzi tub! We were going to rent a movie from the front desk, but we didn't think we'd make it through without falling asleep! However, they had some of the best options I've seen - many new releases we would have been interested in watching.
My only "non positive observation", is that in the 2nd floor vending area, I wanted to fill up my water bottle using their water cooler. The jug was empty with a full one on the floor next to it, which I noticed in the evening. I thought it would be switched by morning (close to our noon check-out), but it wasn't. This was an extremely minor observation, and I simply used the one downstairs to fill up, no biggie. I would have switched it myself if I would have known how!
We always look forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This was our second time to stay here. We absolutely loved the friendly staff and the size of the room. We stayed at one bedroom apartment. The hotel was very quiet. We came here during the Spring Break and we found out only another family and ours using the swimming pool. My kids loved the swimming pool since it was warm. We also used the recreation room (pool table) and this time only my family was there.

The hotel was about 10 minutes from downtown Galena and located in a very quiet area so this would not be a good hotel for those who want to experience Galena's life (day and night). Also one minor downside of this hotel was we need to pay $3 each if we want to rent DVDs and they only had old ones. Other than that, we loved our time here and planned to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hdfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
857 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
22 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Galena

Property: Worldmark Galena
Address: 5129 W Longhollow Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9383
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Galena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worldmark Galena 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Worldmark Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Galena Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing