We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Knowledgeable & Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LeFevre Inn & Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Highwood, Illinois
1 review
“Clean, Quiet, Knowledgeable & Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Peaceful resort where "you can get away from it all." Enjoyed the views. Staff was incredible and helped coordinate hot air balloon rides, wine tours and restaurant reservations. Suite was spacious, clean and decorated beautifully - I really wanted to buy the vase on the table. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is the second time we stayed here. Like others 1st time was great but the 2nd time I wondered if they had different owners. We came in after being gone all day and though the bed was made, In 2 of our 3 rooms the coffe pot was dirty & so were the wine glasses. The grounds were still in the coffee pot and the cups were dirty. Doesn't seem like a big deal but even the cheaper motels give clean cups & glasses. We'll be staying somewhere else next time. We had 3 rooms, the only reason their cups & glasses were clean was because they hadn't used them. At these prices is it too much to expect clean cups, glasses, and coffee pot?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were here for a wedding recently. First of all we were quoted one price and then got another price for $40.00 more. We had to pay it because they would not honor the original price. Since it was a wedding, we were told there would be a discount. We were not the only people this was told to. Also, the the place is in need of some work. The stairs are not too sturdy, the building is in need of a paint job and our room needed an overhaul as well. Our room backed up to the forest behind the Inn, so everytime we opened the door, we had all kinds of bugs fly in. I even found a tick in the bathroom. I've been to Galena a lot and I would never stay at LeFever again. Not worth the price and there isn't much to do there either. The grounds were pretty though for the wedding, but if I had a choice, I would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,il
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Thank you for wonderful stay. Michelle you rock!!! Mona and I say big hi and bigger thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pusia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a small (8 rooms plus 2 cabins) resort in the rolling hills just outside of Galena. The building is situated on the top of one of those hills, and the view from your room reaches to Iowa and Wisconsin as well as Illinois. Because they are at the end of a dead-end road and off the beaten path, you never hear any traffic noise at all, unless it's someone coming to the Inn. The rooms are well laid out, with amenities such as an HD TV, mini-fridge and coffee maker. The king size bed was comfy and the pillows were supportive, not those postage stamp size pancakes a lot of hotels are using these days. They have a wonderful pool which is never very crowded, a grill if you wish to use it, a fire-pit area, a small lake with a gazebo out over it (used often for weddings), paddle-boat for free use on the lake and free continental breakfast! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again to this wonderful place whenever we visit the Galena area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wörthsee, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We (a couple of 3 persons- included a teenager) stayed there for two nights. Its not far from Galena but far away to have a silent place for relaxing. We were directely in the nature .. with a beautiful view on the lake, birds whistle..The rooms are also greate and large. There is a plasma TV above the fireplace, a small fridge and a coffee maker. In addition we had a whirlpool in the bathroom. In balance- we enjoy each day. That's exact what we expect after some days in Chicago...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbow230411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeKalb, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This quaint little resort is specacular for any getaway. The rooms are clean and the king size bed makes it hard to get out of bed. We came about three years ago and since then the inn has been modernized and they added a pond with a walkout gazebo. I will bring the whole family this summer!

Room Tip: The best room by far is their cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timv_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
840 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
3.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LeFevre Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LeFevre Inn & Resort

Property: LeFevre Inn & Resort
Address: 9917 W Deininger Ln, Galena, IL 61036-9447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — LeFevre Inn & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk out of this private, king-sized bed room and take in a breathtaking view of our lake and panoramic tri-state vistas at LeFevre Inn & Resort, Galena, IL. Room also includes a wood-burning fireplace, sofa sleeper, coffee maker, mini refrigerator and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your LeFevre Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefevre Hotel Galena
Lefevre Inn And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing