We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, reasonable and great rates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grant Hills Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, reasonable and great rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was the second year we reserved a room at Grant Hills over Memorial weekend. We were at a friend's during the day and evening so only a basic room was required. Very comfortable with a small microwave, WIFI and refrigerator. This year, after a reservation for two, my husband did not travel with me so in filling out the card at check-in, I mentioned it. The staff person (owner?), graciously said that she was only going to charge for a one person. I did not expect this since the reservation was for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadgerAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a room in the back. It is quiet, clean and has a large lovely yard. Perfect for pets and kids! The fresh green grass was right out our door. They had a picnic area with a barbecue for us to use. So very nice. Very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a back room of you don't mind a small walk. So very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Lake , Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Some of my friends and I stayed at Grant Hills this past weekend. It was a great stay! Grant Hills is clean and afforable! The staff was friendly! Our room was nice and clean! Its our new place to stay when we are in the Galena area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coreywack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here on a last minute trip to Galena. Very clean room. Loved that there was nothing but open fields behind the motel. Owner was very friendly and answered my questions about what to do and where to eat etc. Would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This motel suited our purposes perfectly. Stayed last month as part of a ladies weekend and we were totally satisfied. We only needed a place for one evening, which put Grant Hills at the top of the list (because, after some research, it was just about the only place in town that didn't require a 2 night minimum stay). It also offered a room with 3 double beds! How perfect! There were 3 of us and we were delighted to each have our own bed, which were proper double sized beds and aptly comfortable. The cost of the 3 bed room was $109 for the night and, split between the 3 of us, the price was right. Yes, the motel is dated, but I thought it had it's roadside charm. The room was very clean, hot shower, everything worked, so as just a place to stay - it delivers. We did not partake in the outdoor/unheated pool, but it exists and looks like a motel pool in a parking lot. It's about a 5 min drive into downtown Galena (you could walk there, but there's no sidewalk and it's a fairly busy road), and there's also taxi/shuttle services available (the front desk can provide phone numbers) that will pick you up in front of the motel. All in all, it got the job down and we were happy. But if you're thinking of proposing marriage, perhaps pick one of the far more romantic/cozy B&B's in town (although Grant Hills Motel will put your names on the roadside sign wishing you a happy anniversary if you stay there...Bill & Sue were apparently celebrating theirs during our visit:)

Room Tip: There are rooms on the lower level which face the back of the property away from the front road (pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skullatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a really pleasant front desk clerk. The room was spotless with a great view. I like staying at "mom and pop" motels and was glad we stayed at this one. Nice back yard also. We will definitely stay here again as my wife gets a hoot out of the Galena area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ekimilopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This quaint roadside inn was like stepping back in time. We traveled with a bus group and they put our name on their road sign. (We were famous!) They were kind, had coffee in the lobby, but were out of cookies by the time my group within the group got settled. We had 6 people and we were tickled pink that they had 2 rooms with 3 double beds in them! (This was the first girl trip that we did not have to sleep with a buddy and had our own bed!) The rooms were exceptionally clean and the bathroom had the cleanest tile I have ever seen in a motel of this age. There were plenty of towels, the beds and pillows were comfy and there was a fridge and microwave! Everything we could need for a comfy stay with our besties! We all definitely agreed that we need to return to Galena for another girl trip for more than one night's stay!

Room Tip: If you have a big group, consider asking for the rooms with 3 beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naisy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galena
3.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
3.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Hills Motel

Property: Grant Hills Motel
Address: 9372 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Hills Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galena's best value. Offering simple comforts of home, Grant Hills Motel is comfortably equipped to help you pack lightly and enjoy extended stays. Onsite laundry and kitchen facilities, a spacious backyard with picnic area and gas grills provide homey conveniences. More for you: heated outdoor pool, next-to-door parking (most rooms), and choice of up to 3 beds per room. Pet friendly. Affordably priced. 34 Rooms-perfect for reunions, business travelers and extended stay guests. Within minutes of downtown, shopping, dining and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grant Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hills Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing