We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palace Campground
Nearby Hotels
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$110
The Irish Cottage
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
13
18
13
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
18
13
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy holiday weekenddowntown galenaculverswalmartpoolfi
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We've rented the cabins at The Palace for several years. They are always very clean. The AC works pretty well and beds aren't too bad.
We've also pulled our RV and camped in a site. This is a little less comfortable. We are packed in very tighly in most spots, with very little room to spread out. You feel really close to your neighbors which is less fun when you don't know them! Also backing into your site is a bit of a challenge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It is hard to believe that this place is still in operation. I have to say that I have been at quite a few campgrounds and this is the worst. I didn't even think to look at reviews because everything in Galena is beautiful. Huge mistake. It looks as though this place was built in the 5 ' s or 60 ' s and hasn't been updated since. The facilities are all rundown, chipping paint and all with visible mold and mildew with lime buildup so bad the showers barely work. The poolside bathrooms are one word...disgusting! There is no room to enjoy your site and have a campfire as the sites are awning to awning. I truly believe that there would not be as much business there if it weren't the only campground in the area. Just a shame that that is also the attitude the owner and staff have. Very rude and unfriendly. Not to mention the boxer putt bull dog she let's run around off a leash. Anyone want to make big bucks? Open a GOOD campground in Galena. This one is horrible and still seems pretty busy. Now I know what they mean when they say "location location location!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank QueenLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a very nice time and this convieniently located campground. We were only there for a weekend but had a very nice time. I would have to say the full sevice sites are pretty tight but that is how a lot of the older campgrounds are. The people on both sides of us were very friendly so it was a pleasant experience.
The price was very reasonable for all you get here. The wi-fi worked great infact we were even able to stream movies. The pool was very cold but didn't slow our daughter down she still enjoyed it.I would however liked to have seen someone come out and stop the large people that were playing a game of catch that was very wild to the point of bouncing the ball off the little kids heads. We were not the only ones who left the pool because of them, but you can't hold that against the campground.
It was very clean and well kept, We loved that we could go down town walk around or eat then go back and let our 6 year old play or burn off some energy then do more sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tink_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here the second weekend in August, and we absolutely loved it! The staff was super friendly, and they were willing to help us with anything! I, personally, didn't notice any indifferent teenagers working at the facility, not that that matters anyway. The campground was conveniently located next to a walmart, so if we forgot anything it was nice to have that option. It was very clean and well kept, and the bathrooms had FLUSHING toilets! Even though camping is an outdoor experience, they offer wi-fi for FREE, and the signal reaches to most of the sites where at other campgrounds you have to be in the office area, or they don't offer it at all. I see some of the reviews on here complain about the wi-fi, but you must take into consideration that weather DOES effect signal, and honestly it's a free service, so there shouldn't be much said about it at a campground in the first place. This campground is located right off the highway, so we were afraid there would be an issue with noise pollution, but thankfully we all got wonderful sleep, and you really don't hear much of the traffic past the front gates. It's a very family oriented place, there are a lot of activities for the kids, and I felt safe letting my children out of my supervision. I'd hate to see people not stay here due to someone else's bad experience because it's a lovely place to go! We definitely plan on making this an annual camping trip!

Room Tip: Full hook-up sites are a little cramped, go for the electric only!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Level sites, poorly placed sewer hookups, indifferent staff- unfortunately this is pretty much what the average campground is today. The teenager that checked us in only gave us a copy of the check in form, no map or list of amenities. Very casually run. If the Walmart down the street wasn't posted as no overnight parking I think the Palace CG would have very little business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevedurbano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews