We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gooldmoor”
Review of Goldmoor Dining

Goldmoor Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Goldmoor Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Black Jack Road
Description: Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths or elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Gooldmoor”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This place was average, It wasn't bad, but it didn't WOW me. It was very cozy which I liked, Food was good, but nothing special.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    45
    12
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still the best we've had in Galena”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I have been making an annual trip to stay at the Goldmoor Inn and always include at least one dinner there during each trip. After this year's trip we can say that our opinion that this is the best restaurant we've enjoyed in Galena is still valid. We were there in early December and enjoyed the Christmas lights and decorations as we dined. Service was great as always. Salad and bread were very good as was the curried pumpkin bisque. For dinner we both had the beef wellington and it was excellent. We still had room for dessert so I had the eggnog cheese cake while my wife opted for the chocolate bread pudding--we shared and thought both were good. Most of the restaurants in Galena are kinda middling--not bad, but certainly not great. The Goldmoor Inn is a cut above the local compo and we look forward to coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and outstanding service”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Group of four had dinner together. It was an extremely cold night, and the restaurant was not busy. We tried the potato soup, and no one was disappointed. Very thick and hearty. Two of the guests ordered Beef Wellington and two ordered the Ribeye. All meals were wonderful. Our server was Linda and she gave very good suggestions for the meals and wines we ordered. We did not have room for dessert but they did look delicious. We had a nice surprise when leaving when Leroy offered to show us the Chef;s Table and Chef's room along with several other rooms that were vacant. I only wish we had an earlier reservation to see the view and the sunset. We will visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosiePeoria_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
356 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Tucked away gem....”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Looking for something not on Galena's Main Street? Try this place. Off Blackjack Road on the way to Chestnut Mountain, a tucked away castle-like structure overlooking the Mississippi River. Great Beef Wellington and fresh Walleye. The side dishes were also very good. We had a party of 6 and sat in our own dinning room. Sue who waited on us, was very personable and made us feel welcomed. Worked with my wife on gluten free choices. Great for as special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Overrated”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

So having dined in galena a couple times and having been impressed over and over again by the food this was supposed to be the crowing jewel of our visit. However I can say this was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had.
First off the hostess was possibly one of the rudest people I have ever seen in service. We are a young couple and when we asked where the restaurant the lady gave us a dirty look and told us that they only take reservations. My girlfriend was about to walk out right there but I was willing to overlook that and politely gave her my name. She proceeded to shoot me another dirty look and walk us past all the empty tables with good views to seat us at possibly the worst table in the place.
The decor is sparse and looked like the basement of a church and the table were oddly placed to give the whole backroom (where she had stuck us) an odd feeling.
Then our waitress came and things just stayed bad. She seemed nice enough but was so unsure of herself and spoke so softly that we had to strain to hear her. She would also disappear for 15 to 20 minutes at a time which made it seem like we had been forgotten. The service was also insanely slow. The couple times we did see our waitress was when she came out to apologize about how slow the food was. The whole experience took two+ hours. Then at the end she had the nerve to bring us dessert menus after we twice told her no "just in case".
So I was willing to forgive all of this craziness if the food was good however the meal was the most decidedly mediocre meal I have ever had. Chicken Noodle Soup... done better and more originally by Panera Bread. Entree: Both were just not very good. My Girlfriends chicken was overdone and not very juicy and I could have made the steak I had at home.
Overall avoid this place like the plauge. Go eat at vinni's or Fried Green Tomatoes, better food and a much better time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKEIG847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goldmoor Dining also viewed

 

Been to Goldmoor Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing