We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Strikes and You Get a Bad Review”

Paradise Bar & Grille
Ranked #44 of 65 Restaurants in Galena
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Galena, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Three Strikes and You Get a Bad Review”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I give a restaurant a chance figuring they may be having an off day. Each time I've been to the Paradise Bar the staff was rude, service poor and food less than mediocre. However, they are still in business so somebody likes them. I won't go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalenaPhotoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    56
    52
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast brunch, friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a drink at the bar one night, and the staff was very friendly, the service quick, even though they were very busy. The next day we came back for the breakfast buffet. We were greeted and seated quickly. The buffet had several dishes, and then they offered made to order omelets, eggs and (I think) pancakes. All of the food we tried was very good. The waitress was very efficient. Nothing fancy, but good food at a good price.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peoriakmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Far from Paradise”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was really looking forward to trying out a restaurant in Galena however a quick rain shower made many of the places fill up quickly. Paradise Bar was the first place we came to that wasn't packed. Now I know why.

We were greeted by what I believe was the owner. She led us to our table where she threw the menus down and walked away. Wow, thanks!! One look at the menu and I was disappointed. It was a typical family restaurant type menu, nothing unusual. We were served our drinks and then we just sat. I watched our waitress cleaning tables and then bringing food to people that arrived after us. She had not even taken our order yet! Just as we were about to get up and leave, she walked by us and said "I got your order right?" Um NO!!

The food arrived and it was as expected..average. Fries were pretty coleslaw was inedible and the burger was decent.

I would not return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalusia, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“pretty good food and not bad service”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I ride my bike up to Galena here and there and I have had pretty good service and the food is pretty good. I have read some of the bad reviews and I can understand them. For a pretty quick stop this is a pretty good place. Bloody Mary's are good but a little expensive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just like your local pub at home”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This where you will find a lot of the locales hanging out it seemed. All were very friendly. The drink prices were very reasonable. A good place to take a break from shopping.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank corona4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradise Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing