We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little diner”
Review of Victory Cafe

Victory Cafe
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Victory Cafe is located in the heart of Main Street serving up great food in a casual, family-friendly atmosphere. Enjoy our breakfast specialties all day long including fresh baked cinnamon rolls, pancakes, waffles, omelets, and our premium coffee. Don't miss daily lunch specials offering the best from our extensive menu of soups, salads, sandwiches, burgers, and hot plates. Come and enjoy a delicious bacon-infused bloody mary or mimosa with your meal Bring the family and bring your appetite to Galena's favorite restaurant - Victory Cafe!
Normal, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice little diner”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stopped here after arriving in Galena and before our wandering the streets. I had the pancake which was bigger than my plate! My husband had the country omelet tanned both were good. It was a nice start to our day. Love breakfast for lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Endosissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    121
    52
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great place for breakfast!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a great breakfast here. The waitress was so accommodating. She went out of her way to make certain we had everything we asked for. The food was delicious and served quickly. As we were leaving, the waitress asked if we wanted a coffee to go---it was no extra charge. When we visit Galena again, we will stopping at this place for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good food. Great Service. Very reasonably priced. The usual mom and pop cafe food done well. We did see Deep Fried meat loaf, but neither my wife or I was up for trying it. All in all, a nice little diner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FAAMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stopped in for lunch and weren't disappointed. I had the daily special of beef tips & noodles which was very good. My husband got the mushroom & swiss burger which was rather large and he said was very good. The only down side of the meal was the French fries. They tasted like Ore-Ida that weren't quite done. Although, the staff kept his coffee cup filled which made up for the not so tasty fries.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdeg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good price”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We went for breakfast here. They are known for their cinnamon rolls and we all got one. They didn't disappoint - they were hot and fluffy and had good frosting and came out right away. Overall about $15/person.

The rest of the breakfast was not bad, but the service seemed a little slow. Also they struck a pet peeve of mine, which is setting the bill on the table without informing you to pay up front. So we sat there for 10 minutes until we realized what we had to do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Victory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing