We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in town!”
Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Breakfast and Lunch
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best food in town!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to going dinner (and breakfast) here again. We visited last year and it was so good we contemplated driving the 2+ hours just to do dinner here. But we were there for the weekend so we got to do dinner and breakfast. Next time we go for the weekend we will just do dinner here both nights and breakfast too - IT IS THAT GOOD! Dinner is only Friday and Saturday and changes every weekend. The menu is fresh, creative and food is delicious. The service is excellent. You can tell The staff and the owner care about what they are doing. They make there own Sangria - that was very good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ScenicRt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    127
    31
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

They also offer dinner, but we have only been there mid-day. This was our second trip, and we brought along our sister-in-law since we loved it last time. We started with the cheese plate starter, which was wonderful. The various fruits worked so well with the Dunbarton blue cheese. Two of us had sandwiches - chicken salad and chicken with bacon on a pretzel roll. They were excellent. I ordered the biscuits and gravy and a spinach salad, very good. The setting is an old store front and has a great second floor dining area. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hatfloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

An old building across from the Galena Train Depot is the location of a great little breakfast/lunch restaurant called Otto's Place. The family owned spot is fun with a very friendly staff and a good menu from which to select your meal. We were there for breakfast and our food was delivered warm and prepared the way we ordered. There is a nice story to the name of Otto's place which you can read about along with the family philosophy which is very solid and missing in today's world. You will enjoy it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Plains, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I found this quaint little place on a recent trip to Galena. I enjoyed a mimosa, half a grilled vegetable and hummus sandwich and half a spinach salad with shrimp added. Portions were large. Everything was fantastic. Down the hill from Grant's Home.

Helpful?
Thank PennyZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Really enjoyed breakfast at Otto's, fun atmosphere, great fresh food, Close to Grant Park. I had an omelet and it was great. It's a fun location off of Main Street in an old historic building.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EquestrianTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing